Resilient cities: food and agricultural challenge

Agriculture Agricoltura città resilienti Expo2015
The issue of sustainability in the urban areas represents a real and living matter. The conference I attended last Tuesday 20th January, entitled “ Food and Agriculture for resilient cities”, organized by Roma Capitale, has depicted the importance of food and agriculture as essential parts of the urban context. It has also underlined the tight relationship between the sustainable development and the resilience, which is the ability to change in reaction to disturbances in an innovative and sustainable way. During the conference, different experiences of some big Italian cities, which lead to more resilient systems, have been presented. Food and agriculture, therefore, have to be considered within the urban context in order to be the benchmark to develop a health policy with. Let’s try to understand more about resilience! Laura Towards resilient socio-ecological systems The conference has started with the presentation of some results of the research regarding the resilient ...

The last lemons of Lake Garda

Food diversity Expo2015 lemon
Today, an article of Jeremi, a French friend, expert on environment and energy, who created the blog « Environnement et énergie ». For our blog, he looked into a very important issue when dealing with the sustainability of our nutrition and agriculture: the issue of the erosion of food and agriculture diversity.  Very recently a FAO report underlined that the fact of preserving this diversity was crucial to cope with climate change[1]. Jeremi introduced to the Lake Garda lemon case, an area quite close from the next universal exposition spot. Have a nice reading! Few people know it but up until the XVII century, the surroundings of Lake Garda in Italy were one of most septentrional in the world to cultivate lemons. These climatic conditions and a particular care for plant breeding lead to create lemons so sweet that you can eat them like oranges. The lemon trees that were cultivated within ...

“Your vegetable garden in our pocket”: technology, promoteur of agricultural and food sustainability?

Orto in tasca
Interview with Eva and Marco from  the Orto in Tasca, an italian application for Smartphone that geolocalize local food producers and farms near your place. Some time ago, I discovered, thanks to Facebook, an interesting project named the Orto in Tasca. Intrigued by the idea, I decided to contact her project’s founder proposing her an interview. The result was a nice chat in which I found out technology can be a useful tool to promote agricultural sustainability. If, on one hand, people is looking for more local, biological, “ethical” food and this will be one of the main theme developed by the many pavilions present at the World Expo 2015, to keep on living with this lifestyle is not so easy…above all when people live in an urban area: where can I find local food and at which price? Technology can play a facilitator role as we are going to ...

Salone del gusto e Terra Madre in Turin report: a foretaste of 2015 Universal exposition? 3

TeamBlog Nutriilpianeta Salonedelgusto
Juliette and I met for a sunny weekend in Turin the 24 and 25 October at the occasion of the International taste fair Terra madre 2014 (Salone del gusto). This fair is organized every two years by Slow Food since 1996. These edition mains themes were food biodiversity and family farming, since 2014 is the international year of this type of agriculture. For the record, Slowfood was created by Carlo Petrini in the Italian Piemont Region in 1986 (first it was named Arcigola), then the organization became international in 1989 with the signing of a manifesto against “the universal folly of Fast Life” and for the preservation of pleasure and respect of the environment. And in 2014, the Salone del Gusto was: 220.000 visitors as in the 2012 previous edition 1266 exhibitors: farmers, producers, associations, institutions, Slowfood representatives from all around the world. More than 129 conferences on food, agriculture ...

Iceland: a good example of sustainable cultivation thanks to the natural resources 2

Islande agriculture géothermie
One month ago, I did an interesting tour to Iceland. It has been a long time since I wanted to visit this isolated Island, close to the North Pole. That’s why I decided to organize the tour. Iceland is a really fascinating country, characterized by a savage nature and lonely places of great beauty, still uncontaminated. In this island, which lies 40 km away from the artic circle, the harsh and sometimes inhospitable land make the possibility to cultivate vegetables and fruits very difficult. Island, indeed, is a very cold country, where there is no daylight  for many months in a year. As a result, plants do not grow easily in such a place. Nevertheless, the presence of geothermical areas, widely spread all over the icelandic territory, makes the temperature of the land not so cold. Icelandic people are hard workers and they were able to take advantage from the ...

The Farmers’ Markets in Italy: a growing trend

Intervista Campagna Amica
Interview to Pietro Hausmann of the Campagna Amica Foundation Last Friday 27th June, Lucia and I have met Pietro Hausmann, who works for Campagna Amica and who deals with the development of its markets in Italy. Campagna Amica is a foundation based in Rome and it is a national network of direct selling of local products, formed by markets, farms, agritourisms, restaurants, urban gardens, small shops and ethical purchasing groups[1]. Our aim was to better understand the growing movement in Italy of the so called “farmers markets”, or local producers’ markets. We want to get known their history, their organization, their values and their perception of the Expo 2015. The easiest way to do it, was to start from the city we live in, and in particolar, from the market that Lucia visits every weekend. We turn up for the meeting at the market which hosts Campagna Amica at Circo Massimo ...

Quiz in honor of world cup: 10 questions to test your knowledge on food and agriculture in Brazil

Brazil expo 2015 quiz
We couldn’t not make something for the World cup 2014 since Laura, Juliette and I are such big fans of football (for those who know us, note the irony of the second part of this sentence… Indeed, the 2014 World cup represents also an opportunity to know better Brazil and in the context of our blog, to concentrate on agricultural and food issues. Good luck for the quiz and may the best win! Lucia Share and Enjoy

Quiz: 10 questions to test your knowledge on food and agriculture in the European Union

UE Food agriculture Expo2015
Elections to the European Parliament will take place Saturday 25th of May 2014. It’s an opportunity to test your knowledge of key figures in terms of food and agriculture in the European Union, one year before the Universal Exposition 2015 which theme is Feed the planet: energy for life. By the way, did you know that European Union will have its own pavilion to the Expo, you will also find one question about this. Share and Enjoy

Here come the rooftop vegetable gardens in Paris!

Topager Expo2015
Interview of Frederic, from the French company Topager It’s in the middle of a worksite and under the rain that I met Frederic in the new vegetable garden of a luxurious hotel near the Eiffel Tower the 25th April of 2014. This vegetable garden has been grown up by the company he created one year ago with a friend, Nicolas Bel, Topager.  Under my umbrella, there was also my friend Céline met by chance the same morning at the  « La faim des terres » conference. We were lucky to also meet Lucie, Frederic’s college who is educational project manager. For our first encounter, we interrupted Frederic and Lucie at the heart of the action: they were receiving enormous farmland sack (composed of green wastes produced locally), ingredient at the basis of their little cuisine: the realization of vegetable garden on the roofs. This interview allowed us to better understand the meaning ...

Bread, wine and earth at the heart of Mediterranean antique civilizations

Pane Vino Expo2015
I made the most of my Easter long weekend in Bologna –called « la grassa » (the fat) in Italy – the city being well known for its generous food. Indeed I participated to the guided tour organized by the bolonian archeological museum on the theme: « Demeter and Dionysus, or bread and wine. The symbolic meaning of food in the antique world». In a general way, it seems that the bond between earth and nature are at the heart of Mediterranean antique cultures. Religions and cults reinforce the sacred dimension of the “earth fruits” considered as gifts of gods. Bread and wine are central during celebrations but also moments of transition – as entering in adult life or death. With the guide Giulia, we travelled thru time and space between Egyptian civilization at the time of pharaohs and Greek civilization. This visit gave me an up-and-coming  foretaste of the many stories and ...

Villes résilientes: défi alimentaire et agricole

Agriculture Agricoltura città resilienti Expo2015
Le thème de la durabilité alimentaire au sein des espaces urbains est plus que jamais d’actualité. Ainsi rappelons que 53% de la population mondiale vit en ville et que ce chiffre croit constamment[1]. L’un des principaux défis dans le futur sera de garantir un accès à la nourriture suffisant au sein de villes de plus en plus peuplées. J’ai assisté mardi 20 janvier à une conférence organisée par Roma Capitale et intitulée « Agriculture et alimentation pour les villes résilientes ». Cette rencontre a mis en valeur le lien  entre développement durable et la « résilience » dans la ville, c’est-à-dire la capacité à répondre aux changements de manière innovante et durable. L’objectif de l’Exposition universelle 2015 est aussi de fournir des réponses concrètes à ces enjeux.  Et  amont de l’évènement se développent de nombreuses  initiatives en ville allant dans le sens de plus de résilience en reconnectant zones urbaines et rurales. Un exemple important, ...

Les derniers citrons du lac de Garde

Food diversity Expo2015 lemon
Aujourd’hui l’article de Jeremi, un ami français, journaliste passionné par les thématiques environnementales et en particulier énergétique, qui a créé le blog « Environnement et énergie ». Pour notre blog, il s’est penché sur une question cruciale quand on évoque la durabilité de notre alimentation et de l’agriculture: la question de l’érosion de la diversité alimentaire et agricole. Très récemment, un rapport de l’organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture (FAO) souligne que préserver cette diversité est essentiel pour s’adapter aux changements climatiques[1]. Jeremi nous présente le cas des citrons du lac de Garde, zone toute proche du futur site de l’exposition universelle ! Bonne lecture ! Peu de gens le savent mais jusqu’au XVIIème siècle les environs du lac de Garde en Italie constituaient un des endroits les plus septentrionals du monde où des citrons étaient cultivés. Cette particularité ainsi qu’un soin  apporté aux croisements des différentes variétés ont abouti à créer ...

Le potager dans la poche: la technologie, instrument de durabilité agricole et alimentaire ?

Orto in tasca
Interview d’Eva de Marco de « L’Orto in Tasca », application italienne pour Smartphone de géolocalisation des producteurs et entreprises de denrées agricoles et produits alimentaires locaux. Il y a quelque temps, j’ai découvert via Facebook, un projet intéressant : l’Orto in Tasca (en français, le potager dans la poche), une application pour Smartphone de géolocalisation des producteurs et magasins de produits locaux.Curieuse d’en savoir plus sur cette initiative, j’ai contacté la fondatrice de ce projet pour lui proposer une interview. S’en est suivie un échange très sympathique via Skype où j’ai découvert que la technologie peut être un instrument utile de promotion de la durabilité même dans le secteur agricole. Si le fait de manger local / bio / solidaire est de plus en plus valorisé, et sera par ailleurs un des thèmes développés par de nombreux pavillons lors de l’Exposition universelle 2015, concrètement  y arriver est une toute autre chose…surtout quand ...

Reportage à Turin pour le Salon International du goût et Terra Madre 2014 : un avant-goût d’Exposition universelle 2015 ? 3

TeamBlog Nutriilpianeta Salonedelgusto
Juliette et moi nous sommes retrouvées à Turin sous un beau soleil le 24 et 25 octobre à l’occasion du Salon international du goût-Terra Madre 2014. Ce salon est  organisé par l’association Slow Food une fois tous les deux ans depuis 1996. Le thème de cette édition était centré sur deux axes[1] : la sauvegarde de la biodiversité alimentaire et l’importance de l’agriculture familiale, 2014 étant l’année internationale de cette dernière. Pour mémoire l’association Slow Food a été créée par Carlo Petrini dans le Piémont en Italie en 1986 (d’abord sous le nom d’Arcigola) puis s’est internationalisée en 1989 à travers la signature d’un manifeste contre « la folie universelle de la « fast-life » »et pour la sauvegarde du plaisir et le respect de l’environnement. Et en 2014, le salon international du goût, c’était : Environ 220.000 visiteurs (comme pour l’édition de 2012[2] 5 jours entiers de salon 1266 exposants : agriculteurs, producteurs, associatifs, institution, réseaux Slowfood ...

L’Islande: un parfait exemple de culture durable grâce aux ressources naturelles 2

Islande agriculture géothermie
Il y a environ un mois, je me suis offerte un voyage en Islande. Cela faisait longtemps que je voulais visiter cette ile perdue, située à deux pas du Pôle Nord, je me suis donc enfin décidée à organiser le voyage. C’est vraiment un pays fascinant, caractérisé par sa nature sauvage, encore vierge en certains endroits, le tout d’une extrême beauté. Dans cette ile qui se trouve à environ 40 km du Cercle Polaire Arctique, la terre âpre est parfois hostile, et rend difficile la possibilité de cultiver des aliments de première nécessité comme les fruits et les légumes.  L’Islande en effet est un pays plutôt froid, où le soleil fait défaut une bonne partie de l’année. Sur cette ile, les plantes ne poussent donc pas facilement. Cependant, la présence de surfaces géothermiques, largement répandues sur le territoire islandais, permet aux terres de maintenir une température pas trop froide. Les ...

Les Farmers’ Market en Italie: un phénomène en pleine croissance

Intervista Campagna Amica
Interview de Pietro Haussman de la fondation italienne Campagna Amica Nous avons rencontré avec Lucia le 27 juin Pietro Haussman, qui travaille pour la fondation italienne Campagna Amica (la « campagne amicale » en français). Pietro est en charge du développement des farmer’s market en Italie pour la fondation. Cette dernière, qui a son siège à Rome, a développé un réseau national de vente direct de produits locaux en Italie à travers des marchés, des fermes, des agritourismes, restaurants, potagers urbains et groupements d’achat et de vente. Notre objectif était de mieux comprendre le phénomène, en pleine croissance en Italie, des Farmer’s market, en français des marchés de producteurs locaux. Nous voulions connaitre leur histoire, leur organisation, leurs valeurs et aussi leur perception de l’Exposition universelle 2015. Et pour ce faire, quoi de plus simple et logique que de partir de la ville dans laquelle nous vivons, Rome, et en particulier du ...

Quiz spécial coupe du monde : 10 questions pour tester vos connaissances sur l’alimentation et l’agriculture au Brésil

Brazil expo 2015 quiz
Et oui en grandes fans de football, Laura, Juliette et moi-même ne pouvions que marquer l’occasion (pour ceux qui nous connaissent notez l’ironie dans la première partie de cette phrase ;). Surtout car la coupe du monde constitue aussi une occasion de mieux connaitre le Brésil, et s’agissant de notre blog d’en savoir plus sur les enjeux agricoles et alimentaires. Bonne chance pour le quiz, que le meilleur gagne ! Lucia Share and Enjoy

Quiz : 10 questions pour tester vos connaissances sur l’alimentation et l’agriculture dans l’Union européenne

UE Food agriculture Expo2015
3…2…1…c’est parti pour le test ! Share and Enjoy

« Potageons » sur les toits !

Topager Expo2015
Interview de Frédéric, de l’entreprise Topager C’est en plein chantier et sous la pluie que j’ai rencontré Frédéric dans le tout nouveau potager d’un grand hôtel au pied de la Tour Eiffel le 25 avril 2014. Ce dernier a été conçu par l’entreprise qu’il a créée il y a un peu plus d’un an avec l’un de ses amis, Nicolas Bel, Topager.  Sous mon parapluie, il y avait aussi Céline, une amie de mon master retrouvée par hasard le matin même à la conférence « La faim des terres ». Nous avons eu aussi la chance de rencontrer la collègue de Frédéric, Lucie, chargée de mission pédagogique. Lors de notre première rencontre, nous avons interrompu Frédéric et Lucie en pleine action : ils étaient en train de recevoir les énormes sachets de terre (composés de déchets verts produits localement), ingrédients à la base de leur petite cuisine : la réalisation de potagers sur les ...

Le pain, le vin et la terre au cœur des civilisations antiques méditerranéennes

Pane Vino Expo2015
J’ai profité du weekend de Pâques pour me rendre à Bologne, surnommée en Italie « la grassa » – la ville étant très connue pour sa nourriture généreuse – où j’ai participé à la visite guidée proposée par le musée archéologique bolonais (et oui on ne dit pas bolognais) sur le thème : « Déméter et Dionysos, ou le pain et le vin. La signification symbolique de la nourriture dans le monde antique ». De manière générale, le rapport à la terre et à la nature est au cœur des cultures antiques méditerranéennes. Les religions et les cultes renforcent le caractère sacré des « fruits de la terre » offerts par les dieux, en particulier le vin et le pain. Ces derniers accompagnent, comme c’est le cas aujourd’hui encore, les moments de célébration mais aussi de passage – comme la mort. Avec la guide Giulia, nous avons voyagé dans le temps et l’espace entre la civilisation égyptienne ...