Catering service: how and why to convert to organic (local)?

ristorazione collettiva Expo2015 organic local
Catering service is an important incentive to convert to a more sustainable food and agriculture. Different aspects and challenges of the environmental economy are connected to this: the establishment of production chains, the link with the territory, the choice of the products (seasonality, proximity…). Many of the participants to the Expo 2015 will highlight their initiatives over the subject. Moreover, the food offer of the pavilions and the organization (Expo 2015) will be under the spotlight: where will the products come from (from far away or from local places, products of the agro-food industry, fresh products)? Will they be biological products? How they will be packed? What will its nutritional value be? The challenge will be to be able to present the entire food variety of the 145 participant countries, ensuring at the same time the sustainability of the food supply given the central question of the Expo: “Is it possible ...

Reportage in Switzerland: let’s go to a food blogger tour pre-Expo 2015!

Suisse Expo2015
I was lucky to participate to a « Food blogger tour » in Switzerland the weekend of the 21-22 and 23 of February. It was organized by Présence Suisse – the organism in charge of the coordination of the Swiss Pavilion for the 2015 Universal Exposition – this train-road trip had the objective of promoting the Swiss territory and gastronomy towards Italian social networks. And for my first time in this country, I was in company of 9 talented and nice Italian “food blogger” (managing a blog in relation with cooking, gastronomy…you can find the list of their blog at the end of article). We went to the discovery of Switzerland, its cooking and its links with agriculture: at the menu no fondue or raclette, but many meetings with chef, explanations on the origins and type of production of our food, presentation of local agriculture, tourism, tasting… we received really a whole-hearted ...

8 of march: women and men, key figures agriculture and nutrition

alimentazione agricoltura donne
To answer the main question of 2015 Universal Exposition: “Is it possible to ensure sufficient, good, healthy and sustainable food for all mankind?”, women are playing a huge role. They are one of the key to fight against hunger but also achieve a more equal and sustainable society. They are farmers, that often have more difficulties to acces to ressource, they are mother, still mostly in charge compare to men of the preparation of meals, they are more victim of diceases link with nutrition… The World food program underlines that “giving women farmers more resources could bring the number of hungry people in the world down by 100 – 150 million people”. A nice project to discover today in relation wih Expo 2015, is the project Women for Expo that ‘aims to further the debate on nutrition-related themes through dedicated projects and initiatives that seek to build a forward-looking and awareness-raising path, starting from the contributions ...

Resilient cities: food and agricultural challenge

Agriculture Agricoltura città resilienti Expo2015
The issue of sustainability in the urban areas represents a real and living matter. The conference I attended last Tuesday 20th January, entitled “ Food and Agriculture for resilient cities”, organized by Roma Capitale, has depicted the importance of food and agriculture as essential parts of the urban context. It has also underlined the tight relationship between the sustainable development and the resilience, which is the ability to change in reaction to disturbances in an innovative and sustainable way. During the conference, different experiences of some big Italian cities, which lead to more resilient systems, have been presented. Food and agriculture, therefore, have to be considered within the urban context in order to be the benchmark to develop a health policy with. Let’s try to understand more about resilience! Laura Towards resilient socio-ecological systems The conference has started with the presentation of some results of the research regarding the resilient ...

The last lemons of Lake Garda

Food diversity Expo2015 lemon
Today, an article of Jeremi, a French friend, expert on environment and energy, who created the blog « Environnement et énergie ». For our blog, he looked into a very important issue when dealing with the sustainability of our nutrition and agriculture: the issue of the erosion of food and agriculture diversity.  Very recently a FAO report underlined that the fact of preserving this diversity was crucial to cope with climate change[1]. Jeremi introduced to the Lake Garda lemon case, an area quite close from the next universal exposition spot. Have a nice reading! Few people know it but up until the XVII century, the surroundings of Lake Garda in Italy were one of most septentrional in the world to cultivate lemons. These climatic conditions and a particular care for plant breeding lead to create lemons so sweet that you can eat them like oranges. The lemon trees that were cultivated within ...

“Your vegetable garden in our pocket”: technology, promoteur of agricultural and food sustainability?

Orto in tasca
Interview with Eva and Marco from  the Orto in Tasca, an italian application for Smartphone that geolocalize local food producers and farms near your place. Some time ago, I discovered, thanks to Facebook, an interesting project named the Orto in Tasca. Intrigued by the idea, I decided to contact her project’s founder proposing her an interview. The result was a nice chat in which I found out technology can be a useful tool to promote agricultural sustainability. If, on one hand, people is looking for more local, biological, “ethical” food and this will be one of the main theme developed by the many pavilions present at the World Expo 2015, to keep on living with this lifestyle is not so easy…above all when people live in an urban area: where can I find local food and at which price? Technology can play a facilitator role as we are going to ...

Food traditions, society and sustainability: zoom in the Panarda tradition 11

Panarda
The 2015 Universal Exposition, where about 147 countries will be represented, will allow us to discover different food cultures, their histories, the relations of these traditions with societies and their evolutions. Speaking about sustainability of our nutrition, as we try to do in our blog, also means speaking about its economic, social and cultural aspects. In particular, the organization of the meals, food moments of celebration well reflect the values of the different societies: the relationship with the resources shortage, the sharing moments, the inequalities, the connections with the territory. Today we are going to zoom in the “Panarda”, secular tradition of the Italian Region of the Abruzzo. This article has been written by Raffaello, who has contacted us some weeks ago. Have a nice reading! Thanks to Raffaello! Juliette, Laura and Lucia The history of the peasant civilization always leans on their own territories, within identity schemes, within the ...

Salone del gusto e Terra Madre in Turin report: a foretaste of 2015 Universal exposition? 3

TeamBlog Nutriilpianeta Salonedelgusto
Juliette and I met for a sunny weekend in Turin the 24 and 25 October at the occasion of the International taste fair Terra madre 2014 (Salone del gusto). This fair is organized every two years by Slow Food since 1996. These edition mains themes were food biodiversity and family farming, since 2014 is the international year of this type of agriculture. For the record, Slowfood was created by Carlo Petrini in the Italian Piemont Region in 1986 (first it was named Arcigola), then the organization became international in 1989 with the signing of a manifesto against “the universal folly of Fast Life” and for the preservation of pleasure and respect of the environment. And in 2014, the Salone del Gusto was: 220.000 visitors as in the 2012 previous edition 1266 exhibitors: farmers, producers, associations, institutions, Slowfood representatives from all around the world. More than 129 conferences on food, agriculture ...

Our 10 tips to fight against food waste at your own level 2

Food waste-Expo 2015
On the occasion of the 2014 World Food Day, we wrote you this special article on food waste, a topic that is particularly important for us and that will be central during the Universal Exposition 2015. One other good reason to choose this issue is that in France, the country where two of us come from (one of them being myself), today is also the National day of the fight against food waste! Enjoy the article! Don’t hesitate to leave your comments ! Lucia The challenges: “One-third of food produced for human consumption is lost or wasted globally, which amounts to about 1.3 billion tons per year” Source FAO “805 million people are estimated to be chronically undernourished in 2012–14” Source FAO When talking about food losses that may happen along the logistic chain, people tend to think that they cannot do much from it as their own small level ...

Food diplomacy and sustainability

Diplomazia alimentare Expo2015
Last Thursday 25th September I went to an interesting workshop: “Expo2015 and Food diplomacy”, in a wonderful roman villa close to via Veneto: villa Maraini, which hosts the Swiss Institute in Rome. It’s been a whole week rich in events in the field of the initiative “Giro del Gusto”, characterized by conferences, round tables, tasting dinner of the typical swiss food, which aimed at promoting the participation of Switzerland at the Expo 2015. Lucia also participated to some events at the Villa, in particolar a conference on “Collective management of the territory and food security: past experiences and future perspectives” (we will speak more about this theme in the near future). After the conference Lucia had the chance to spend a delightful evening listening to music in  company of the Swill Pavillion team. She described me how you could already perceive, during that event, a bit of taste of Universal ...

Restauration collective : comment et pourquoi passer au bio (local) ?

ristorazione collettiva Expo2015 organic local
La restauration collective est un levier majeur pour évoluer vers une alimentation et une agriculture plus durables. Plusieurs défis et enjeux y sont liés : la création de filières, le lien avec les territoires, le choix des produits (saisonnalité, proximité…). De nombreux participants à l’Expo universelle 2015 valoriseront leurs initiatives en la matière. En outre, l’offre de restauration des pavillons et de l’organisateur (Expo 2015) seront sous les projecteurs : d’où viendront les produits (de loin, de près, produits de l’industrie agroalimentaire, produits frais travaillés) ? Seront-ils bio ? Comment seront-ils emballés ? Seront-ils de saison ? Quelle sera leurs qualités nutritionnelles ? L’Expo 2015 a ainsi transmis à l’ensemble des pays participants des lignes directrices pour acheter plus « durable », qui prennent en compte l’offre de restauration. Ces lignes conseillent (et non pas obligent) l’adoption d’un pourcentage de produits bio, la prise en compte de l’origine des produits, la préférence pour ...

Reportage en Suisse : et c’est parti pour un Food blogger tour pré-Expo 2015 !

Suisse Expo2015
J’ai participé à un « Food blogger tour » en Suisse le weekend du 21-22 et 23 février. Organisé par Présence suisse – l’organisme en charge de la coordination du Pavillon suisse pour l’Exposition universelle 2015 de Milan – ce road-train trip avait comme objectif de promouvoir la gastronomie et le territoire suisse auprès des « social networks » italiens. Et pour ma « toute première fois » en Suisse, j’étais en compagnie de 9 autres talentueuses et sympathiques « food bloggeuses » italiennes (animant un blog en rapport avec la cuisine, la culture culinaire ou gastronomique – retrouvez la liste de leur blog en fin d’article) toutes armées de leur smartphone. Nous sommes parties à la découverte de la Suisse, de sa cuisine et des liens avec le territoire : au menu pas de fondue ni de raclette mais des rencontres avec de supers chefs, des explications sur l’origine des produits, la présentation de l’agriculture locale, des visites touristiques, ...

8 mars : femmes et hommes, chiffres clés agriculture et alimentation

alimentazione agricoltura donne
Pour répondre à la question principale qui sera posée lors des six mois de l’Exposition universelle 2015 : « Est-il possible d’assurer à toute l’humanité une alimentation suffisante, de qualité, saine et durable ? » les femmes jouent un rôle clé. Ce sont des agricultrices, qui bien souvent ont plus de difficultés à accéder aux ressources que les hommes, ce sont souvent des mères encore majoritairement en charge de la préparation des repas, c’est une catégorie de la population plus victime des maladies liées à l’alimentation… Le programme alimentaire mondial estime que donner plus de pouvoir et de ressources aux femmes permettraient de diminuer de 100-150 millions le nombre de personnes souffrant de la faim dans le monde. Un projet intéressant à découvrir dans la perspective de l’Exposition universelle est le projet Women for Expo  qui vise à informer sur le rôle des femmes et soutenir des projets visant à une plus grande ...

Villes résilientes: défi alimentaire et agricole

Agriculture Agricoltura città resilienti Expo2015
Le thème de la durabilité alimentaire au sein des espaces urbains est plus que jamais d’actualité. Ainsi rappelons que 53% de la population mondiale vit en ville et que ce chiffre croit constamment[1]. L’un des principaux défis dans le futur sera de garantir un accès à la nourriture suffisant au sein de villes de plus en plus peuplées. J’ai assisté mardi 20 janvier à une conférence organisée par Roma Capitale et intitulée « Agriculture et alimentation pour les villes résilientes ». Cette rencontre a mis en valeur le lien  entre développement durable et la « résilience » dans la ville, c’est-à-dire la capacité à répondre aux changements de manière innovante et durable. L’objectif de l’Exposition universelle 2015 est aussi de fournir des réponses concrètes à ces enjeux.  Et  amont de l’évènement se développent de nombreuses  initiatives en ville allant dans le sens de plus de résilience en reconnectant zones urbaines et rurales. Un exemple important, ...

Les derniers citrons du lac de Garde

Food diversity Expo2015 lemon
Aujourd’hui l’article de Jeremi, un ami français, journaliste passionné par les thématiques environnementales et en particulier énergétique, qui a créé le blog « Environnement et énergie ». Pour notre blog, il s’est penché sur une question cruciale quand on évoque la durabilité de notre alimentation et de l’agriculture: la question de l’érosion de la diversité alimentaire et agricole. Très récemment, un rapport de l’organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture (FAO) souligne que préserver cette diversité est essentiel pour s’adapter aux changements climatiques[1]. Jeremi nous présente le cas des citrons du lac de Garde, zone toute proche du futur site de l’exposition universelle ! Bonne lecture ! Peu de gens le savent mais jusqu’au XVIIème siècle les environs du lac de Garde en Italie constituaient un des endroits les plus septentrionals du monde où des citrons étaient cultivés. Cette particularité ainsi qu’un soin  apporté aux croisements des différentes variétés ont abouti à créer ...

Le potager dans la poche: la technologie, instrument de durabilité agricole et alimentaire ?

Orto in tasca
Interview d’Eva de Marco de « L’Orto in Tasca », application italienne pour Smartphone de géolocalisation des producteurs et entreprises de denrées agricoles et produits alimentaires locaux. Il y a quelque temps, j’ai découvert via Facebook, un projet intéressant : l’Orto in Tasca (en français, le potager dans la poche), une application pour Smartphone de géolocalisation des producteurs et magasins de produits locaux.Curieuse d’en savoir plus sur cette initiative, j’ai contacté la fondatrice de ce projet pour lui proposer une interview. S’en est suivie un échange très sympathique via Skype où j’ai découvert que la technologie peut être un instrument utile de promotion de la durabilité même dans le secteur agricole. Si le fait de manger local / bio / solidaire est de plus en plus valorisé, et sera par ailleurs un des thèmes développés par de nombreux pavillons lors de l’Exposition universelle 2015, concrètement  y arriver est une toute autre chose…surtout quand ...

Traditions alimentaires, sociétés et durablité : zoom sur la tradition de la Panarda 11

Panarda
L’Exposition Universelle 2015, où 147 pays seront représentés, permettra de découvrir diverses cultures alimentaires, leurs histoires respectives et leurs rapports avec le contexte économique et social des sociétés dans l’histoire. Parler de durabilité dans notre alimentation, comme nous cherchons à le faire dans ce blog, signifie aussi parler des  aspects sociaux et culturels des sociétés. En particulier, l’organisation des repas, des moments de célébration autour de l’alimentation reflètent bien les valeurs sociétales : la perception de la rareté des ressources, la place laissée au partage, les inégalités, le rapport avec le territoire. Aujourd’hui nous ferons un zoom sur la Panarda, une tradition séculaire d’une grande partie de la région italienne des Abruzzes. Cet article a été rédigé par Raffaello qui nous a contactées il y a quelques semaines. Merci à Raffaello ! Bonne lecture, Lucia, Juliette et Laura L’histoire de la civilisation paysanne s’inscrit depuis toujours dans des contextes particuliers, ...

Reportage à Turin pour le Salon International du goût et Terra Madre 2014 : un avant-goût d’Exposition universelle 2015 ? 3

TeamBlog Nutriilpianeta Salonedelgusto
Juliette et moi nous sommes retrouvées à Turin sous un beau soleil le 24 et 25 octobre à l’occasion du Salon international du goût-Terra Madre 2014. Ce salon est  organisé par l’association Slow Food une fois tous les deux ans depuis 1996. Le thème de cette édition était centré sur deux axes[1] : la sauvegarde de la biodiversité alimentaire et l’importance de l’agriculture familiale, 2014 étant l’année internationale de cette dernière. Pour mémoire l’association Slow Food a été créée par Carlo Petrini dans le Piémont en Italie en 1986 (d’abord sous le nom d’Arcigola) puis s’est internationalisée en 1989 à travers la signature d’un manifeste contre « la folie universelle de la « fast-life » »et pour la sauvegarde du plaisir et le respect de l’environnement. Et en 2014, le salon international du goût, c’était : Environ 220.000 visiteurs (comme pour l’édition de 2012[2] 5 jours entiers de salon 1266 exposants : agriculteurs, producteurs, associatifs, institution, réseaux Slowfood ...

Nos 10 conseils pour lutter contre le gaspillage alimentaire 1

Food waste-Expo 2015
A l’occasion de la journée de l’alimentation 2014, nous vous proposons cet article spécial Gaspillage alimentaire, sujet qui nous tient particulièrement à cœur et qui sera aussi central lors de l’Exposition universelle 2015. Surtout qu’en France, pays d’origine de deux des membres du groupe du blog (dont moi-même), c’est aussi la journée nationale de la lutte contre le gaspillage alimentaire ! Bonne lecture ! N’hésitez pas à commenter ! Lucia Les enjeux : « Un tiers de la production alimentaire destinée à la consommation humaine dans le monde est perdue ou gaspillée, ce qui représente environ 1,3 milliard de tonnes par an » Source FAO  « 805 millions de personnes étaient en situation de sous-alimentation chronique en 2012-2014 » Source : FAO   Et même si s’agissant des pertes alimentaires qui peuvent avoir lieu tout au long de la chaine logistique on a tendance à penser qu’à l’échelle individuelle, on ne peut pas faire grand-chose – si ce ...

Diplomatie alimentaire et durabilité

Diplomazia alimentare Expo2015
Le jeudi 25 septembre, j’ai assisté à un workshop “Expo2015 et Food Diplomacy” dans une sublime villa romaine à deux pas de la rue Veneto : la Villa Maraini, qui accueille l’Institut Suisse à Rome. Dans le cadre de l’initiative “Giro del gusto”,  l’équipe du Pavillon suisse organisait un programme d’une semaine de conférences, tables rondes et soirées de dégustation visant à publiciser la participation Suisse à l’Exposition universelle 2015.  Lucia était aussi rendez-vous  la veille où elle avait assisté à une conférence “Gestion collective du territoire et sureté alimentaire : Expérience historique et perspectives futures”  (nous vous reparlerons de cette thématique d’ici peu) avant de passer une magnifique soirée en musique en compagnie de l’équipe du Pavillon suisse. Elle me disait qu’à cette soirée il y avait déjà un petit goût d’Exposition universelle à Rome, tout du moins ce que nous espérons qu’elle sera : des moments de dialogue et ...