The Farmers’ Markets in Italy: a growing trend

Intervista Campagna Amica
Interview to Pietro Hausmann of the Campagna Amica Foundation Last Friday 27th June, Lucia and I have met Pietro Hausmann, who works for Campagna Amica and who deals with the development of its markets in Italy. Campagna Amica is a foundation based in Rome and it is a national network of direct selling of local products, formed by markets, farms, agritourisms, restaurants, urban gardens, small shops and ethical purchasing groups[1]. Our aim was to better understand the growing movement in Italy of the so called “farmers markets”, or local producers’ markets. We want to get known their history, their organization, their values and their perception of the Expo 2015. The easiest way to do it, was to start from the city we live in, and in particolar, from the market that Lucia visits every weekend. We turn up for the meeting at the market which hosts Campagna Amica at Circo Massimo ...

I have read for you: “Feeding mankind” of Louis Malassis

Capture
Let’s inaugurate a new type of article, the ” I have read/watched for you “. Indeed, it’s been 4 months since our blog is online and almost nine months since Laura, Juliette and I had the idea to create it, and yet thanks to the people we were able to meet or simply the circumstances, we happened (and we will in the future) to read books or to see movies or reports on the food and agriculture which made an impression on us and what we would like to share with you in the prospect of the 2015 Universal Exposition. Today, let’s start with “Feeding manking” written by the engineer and French professor, Louis Malassis. Have a nice reading and don’t hesitate to comment! Lucia To sum up Only with 128 pages (which can be read really quickly and easily), the author managed to summarize and explain the complex history of how mankind faced ...

Quiz in honor of world cup: 10 questions to test your knowledge on food and agriculture in Brazil

Brazil expo 2015 quiz
We couldn’t not make something for the World cup 2014 since Laura, Juliette and I are such big fans of football (for those who know us, note the irony of the second part of this sentence… Indeed, the 2014 World cup represents also an opportunity to know better Brazil and in the context of our blog, to concentrate on agricultural and food issues. Good luck for the quiz and may the best win! Lucia Share and Enjoy

The geopolitics of food: food safety,globalization and sustainability at the heart of the challenges

Geopolitica cibo Expo2015
I have always been interested in geopolitics: to know what is behind the international policy, to understand the political, economic, or military strategies adopted by the different countries to respond to challenges and create alliances. In short: to know the different realities which makes our world a global network. That is why I decided on friday May 16th to go to a conference about “the geopolitics of food” organized by the italian Istituto di Alti Studi in Geopolitica e Scienze Ausiliarie. It made me understand once again that when we speak about geopolitics it does cover only the States political decisions but in a such global world the food also becomes an interconnected reality which has significant consequences on the global population and on what we eat. Thus, the theme of food safety has been raised once again as a crucial issue for the world’s global balances. Moreover, speaking about Expo 2015 and its ...

Quiz: 10 questions to test your knowledge on food and agriculture in the European Union

UE Food agriculture Expo2015
Elections to the European Parliament will take place Saturday 25th of May 2014. It’s an opportunity to test your knowledge of key figures in terms of food and agriculture in the European Union, one year before the Universal Exposition 2015 which theme is Feed the planet: energy for life. By the way, did you know that European Union will have its own pavilion to the Expo, you will also find one question about this. Share and Enjoy

Bread, wine and earth at the heart of Mediterranean antique civilizations

Pane Vino Expo2015
I made the most of my Easter long weekend in Bologna –called « la grassa » (the fat) in Italy – the city being well known for its generous food. Indeed I participated to the guided tour organized by the bolonian archeological museum on the theme: « Demeter and Dionysus, or bread and wine. The symbolic meaning of food in the antique world». In a general way, it seems that the bond between earth and nature are at the heart of Mediterranean antique cultures. Religions and cults reinforce the sacred dimension of the “earth fruits” considered as gifts of gods. Bread and wine are central during celebrations but also moments of transition – as entering in adult life or death. With the guide Giulia, we travelled thru time and space between Egyptian civilization at the time of pharaohs and Greek civilization. This visit gave me an up-and-coming  foretaste of the many stories and ...

Degrowth theory and food issues: towards a “frugal abondance”?

Alimentazione abbondanza frugale Expo2015
What are the connections between food issues and degrowth theory? I had the answer attending to a conference with Serge Latouche, a famous French economist and thinker partisan of the degrowth theory in Milano the 17 of March.  The conference was held within the framework of a course of lectures organized by the foundation of the Italian newspaper Corriere della Serra entitled “Banquet table: between food and knowledge”. Introducing the conference, Serge Latouche first recalled the audience the definition of eating quoting Carlo Petrini, the founder of the Slow Food movement “Eating is a total discipline that regards agriculture, economy, culinary arts and ecology”. Indeed society issues have direct impacts on eating ones. Criticism of the negative impact of growth and its excesses Serge Latouche quickly presented the general framework of its thinking: he denounced the “society of growth” that little by little let itself be absorbed by the objective ...

Sustainable brunch:loving food, localness, seasonality, patience and courage on the menu

brunch me up
Interview of Matthias Behar, CEO of Brunch me up  Matthias is a 25 years old young man who is working since one year on the creation of a brunch home delivery company in the city of Aix en Provence, France. He intends his company to respect the principles of sustainable development. But concretely how to reconcile pleasure of a nice brunch and sustainability? Well this interview may help us figure it out. How did you have the idea of creating a brunch home delivery company? It was a Sunday morning in Lille, it was cold and my fridge was empty. We wanted to go for a brunch, but it was impossible to book anywhere. Everything was full and I realized there could a place for this type of activity. What are the main obstacles to create your company? First, the regulations in force, in particular hygiene and safety standards. Then, ...

Interview of Wakao Hanaoka of Greenpeace Japan

Imagine del sito web di Greenpeace Giappone
“The combination of overfishing, distributing and consuming is the major seafood-related issue in Japan” Last august, my Japanese roommate and friend, Mari, who worked some years within Greenpeace Japon, and who followed our project of the blog, has left for Japan, on holiday. We took this opportunity to ask her to contact one of her ex colleague. No sooner said than done! Grazie Mari! The responsible of the ocean campaign draws us a very complete picture of the situation of fishing and seafood products consumption, underlining the difficulty to implement a more sustainable fishing and to make the Japanese people aware of the consequences of their consumption habits. The Fukushima catastrophe seems, however, somehow, to  change the situation. Another interesting information is that if, on one hand, the Expo 2015 is receiving a growing media attention in Italy (I saw last time in some touristic shops, this coffee cup with ...

Food consumption polytheism: the era of eclectic nutrition and paradoxes

Polythéisme alimentaire
Last 22 of January in Milan, I had the chance to attend a conference with Giuseppe de Rita, a famous Italian sociologist and president of the Centro Studi Investimenti Sociali (Censis) on the food consumption polytheism. This conference was organized within the framework of a course of lectures organized by the foundation of the Italian newspaper Corriere della Serra entitled “Banquet table: between food and knowledge”. Our relation to food, a determinant frame of reference for understanding society As he introduced the conference, Giuseppe De Rita insisted on the fact that our relation to food was essential to understand our society. Since the end of Second World War – period in which food was considered as precious, rare and not really diversified – and in particular from the fifties and sixties economic growth was at the origin of an important increase of food consumption, food becoming more abundant and accessible. ...

Les Farmers’ Market en Italie: un phénomène en pleine croissance

Intervista Campagna Amica
Interview de Pietro Haussman de la fondation italienne Campagna Amica Nous avons rencontré avec Lucia le 27 juin Pietro Haussman, qui travaille pour la fondation italienne Campagna Amica (la « campagne amicale » en français). Pietro est en charge du développement des farmer’s market en Italie pour la fondation. Cette dernière, qui a son siège à Rome, a développé un réseau national de vente direct de produits locaux en Italie à travers des marchés, des fermes, des agritourismes, restaurants, potagers urbains et groupements d’achat et de vente. Notre objectif était de mieux comprendre le phénomène, en pleine croissance en Italie, des Farmer’s market, en français des marchés de producteurs locaux. Nous voulions connaitre leur histoire, leur organisation, leurs valeurs et aussi leur perception de l’Exposition universelle 2015. Et pour ce faire, quoi de plus simple et logique que de partir de la ville dans laquelle nous vivons, Rome, et en particulier du ...

J’ai lu pour vous : « Nourrir les Hommes » de Louis Malassis

Capture
Nous inaugurons une nouvelle rubrique, le « j’ai lu/vu  pour vous ». En effet depuis 4 mois que ce blog est publié et depuis presque neuf mois que Laura, Juliette et moi avons eu l’idée de le lancer, grâce aux personnes que nous avons pu rencontrer ou simplement aux circonstances, nous avons été amenées (et nous serons amenées) à lire des livres, à voir des films ou des reportages sur les thèmes de l’alimentation et/ou de l’agriculture qui nous marquent et que nous souhaiterions partager avec vous dans la perspective de l’Exposition universelle 2015. Aujourd’hui, je vais vous parler de « Nourrir les hommes » écrit par l’ingénieur et professeur français, Louis Malassis. Bonne lecture, n’hésitez pas à laisser vos commentaires ! Lucia En bref En seulement 128 pages (qui véritablement se lisent très rapidement et avec plaisir), l’auteur réussi à résumer et à expliquer l’histoire complexe de la manière dont l’humanité s’est organisée pour se ...

Quiz spécial coupe du monde : 10 questions pour tester vos connaissances sur l’alimentation et l’agriculture au Brésil

Brazil expo 2015 quiz
Et oui en grandes fans de football, Laura, Juliette et moi-même ne pouvions que marquer l’occasion (pour ceux qui nous connaissent notez l’ironie dans la première partie de cette phrase ;). Surtout car la coupe du monde constitue aussi une occasion de mieux connaitre le Brésil, et s’agissant de notre blog d’en savoir plus sur les enjeux agricoles et alimentaires. Bonne chance pour le quiz, que le meilleur gagne ! Lucia Share and Enjoy

Géopolitique de l’alimentation : sécurité alimentaire, mondialisation et durabilité au cœur des enjeux

Geopolitica cibo Expo2015
La géopolitique m’a toujours passionnée : découvrir les coulisses des décisions internationales, comprendre les stratégies politiques, économiques ou militaires adoptées par les pays pour répondre aux enjeux de périodes historiques déterminées et renforcer les alliances. En une phrase : comprendre les réalités qui rendent tellement interconnectées notre monde. Et pour cette raison, j’ai décidé vendredi 16 mai d’assister à une conférence sur la géopolitique de l’alimentation, un évènement organisé par l’Institut des Hautes Etudes en Géopolitiques et Sciences auxiliaires, ce qui m’a rappelé que parler de géopolitique ne signifie pas uniquement parler des choix politiques des pays, mais dans un monde si globalisé, la nourriture devient également une réalité interconnectée qui a d’importantes conséquences sur la population mondiale et sur ce que nous mangeons. Et encore une fois on a parlé de sécurité alimentaire[1] en soulignant son rôle crucial pour l’équilibre géopolitique mondial. L’Exposition universelle 2015 dont le thème sera « Nourrir ...

Quiz : 10 questions pour tester vos connaissances sur l’alimentation et l’agriculture dans l’Union européenne

UE Food agriculture Expo2015
3…2…1…c’est parti pour le test ! Share and Enjoy

Le pain, le vin et la terre au cœur des civilisations antiques méditerranéennes

Pane Vino Expo2015
J’ai profité du weekend de Pâques pour me rendre à Bologne, surnommée en Italie « la grassa » – la ville étant très connue pour sa nourriture généreuse – où j’ai participé à la visite guidée proposée par le musée archéologique bolonais (et oui on ne dit pas bolognais) sur le thème : « Déméter et Dionysos, ou le pain et le vin. La signification symbolique de la nourriture dans le monde antique ». De manière générale, le rapport à la terre et à la nature est au cœur des cultures antiques méditerranéennes. Les religions et les cultes renforcent le caractère sacré des « fruits de la terre » offerts par les dieux, en particulier le vin et le pain. Ces derniers accompagnent, comme c’est le cas aujourd’hui encore, les moments de célébration mais aussi de passage – comme la mort. Avec la guide Giulia, nous avons voyagé dans le temps et l’espace entre la civilisation égyptienne ...

Alimentation et décroissance : vers une abondance frugale ?

Alimentazione abbondanza frugale Expo2015
Alimentation et abondance frugale Quel lien entre alimentation et décroissance ?  J’ai pu avoir quelques éléments de réponses en assistant à une conférence avec Serge Latouche, un économiste français penseur connu de la décroissance. Cette dernière était organisée par la Fondation Corriere della Sera dans le cadre du cycle « Banquet : entre nourriture et savoirs » au Piccolo Teatro Grassi de Milan, le 17 mars dernier. Serge Latouche intervenait sur les liens entre alimentation et l’abondance frugale, notion sur laquelle il a écrit un livre[1]. Dans le cadre de sa réflexion, Serge Latouche se repose sur la définition de l’alimentation de Carlo Petrini (fondateur du mouvement Slow Food) : «l’alimentation est une discipline globale qui touche l’agriculture, l’économie, l’art culinaire et l’écologie ». En effet, ce qui impacte négativement la société va automatiquement impacter notre alimentation et notre rapport à la nourriture. Critique des conséquences négatives de la croissance et de ses excès  ...

Brunch durable : gourmandise, local, saisonnalité, patience et courage au menu

brunch me up
Rencontre avec Matthias Behar, CEO de Brunch me up  Matthias a 25 ans et travaille depuis plus d’un an sur la création d’une entreprise de livraison de brunch à domicile dans la ville d’Aix en Provence. Le fonctionnement de son entreprise s’inscrit également dans une démarche de développement durable. Alors comment concilier plaisir de savourer un brunch et  alimentation durable ? Voici une interview qui vous permettra d’en savoir plus ! Comment as-tu eu l’idée de ce concept ? C’était un dimanche matin, à Lille, il faisait froid et mon frigo était vide, nous avons eu alors l’envie d’aller bruncher mais impossible de trouver de la place, tout était plein. J’ai réalisé qu’il y avait donc un marché sur la livraison de brunch à domicile. Quels sont les principaux obstacles auxquels fais-tu face dans l’aboutissement de ton projet ? Tout d’abord la réglementation, les normes d’hygiène et de sécurité notamment. Puis la difficulté de ...

Interview d’Wakao Hanaoka, de Greenpeace Japon

Imagine del sito web di Greenpeace Giappone
« La combinaison de la surpêche, de la surdistribution et de la surconsommation  constitue le principal problème du Japon » Nous avons profité du départ en vacances de ma coloc’ et amie japonaise Mari, qui avait travaillé quelques années à Greenpeace Japon, et qui a suivi notre projet de blog, pour lui demander de recontacter ses anciens collègues. Sitôt demandé, sitôt réalisé ! Merci Mari ! Le responsable de la Campagne océan, nous a fait un petit point très complet sur la situation de la pêche et de la consommation de produits de la mer au Japon, soulignant les difficultés pour mettre en oeuvre une pêche plus durable et pour sensibiliser les japonais dans leurs pratiques de consommation. La catastrophe de Fukushima semble néanmoins changer un peu la donne. Autre info intéressante, si l’Expo 2015 fait l’objet d’une couverture média de plus en plus large en Italie (hier, j’ai vu que les magasins de ...

Le polythéisme alimentaire : l’ère du consommateur “touche à tout” et des paradoxes

Polythéisme alimentaire
Le 22 janvier dernier à Milan j’ai eu la chance d’assister à la conférence de Giuseppe de Rita, fameux sociologue et président du Centre d’étude sur les investissements sociaux italien (Censis) sur le thème du polythéisme alimentaire. Cette dernière était organisée dans le cadre d’un cycle de conférences proposé par laFondation du journal Corriere della sera intitulée“Banquet : entre nourriture et savoirs”. Le rapport à l’alimentation, clé de lecture essentielle de la société Dès l’introduction, Giuseppe De Rita a insisté sur le fait que notre rapport à l’alimentation offre une clé de lecture essentielle à notre société. Ainsi, notre alimentation et nos habitudes de consommation sont le reflet de notre société. Depuis la fin de la seconde guerre mondiale – période durant laquelle la nourriture était un bien considéré comme très précieux et souvent peu varié – et en particulier à partir des années 50-60 la croissance économique s’est accompagnée ...