Expo 2015

Logo Expo 2015

In short, the 2015 Universal Exposition is:

What? The overarching theme will be « Feeding the planet: energy for life». The 1928 Paris convention describe an Universal Exposition as « a display which, whatever its title, has as its principal purpose the education of the public: it may exhibit the means at man’s disposal for meeting the needs of civilisation, or demonstrate the progress achieved in one or more branches of human endeavour, or show prospects for the future»[1] .

  • When? During six months from the 1st of May to 31 of October 2015. Open from 10 am to 11 pm.
  • Where? In Milan, more precisely, in the nord-west of Milan, in an area approximately 2 km and varying in width from 350 to 750 meters[2] (at 90 % within Milan city, at 10 % in the suburb city of Rho) . But many events will be also organized in Milan city center and n all Italy, a true cultural, scientific and artistic OFF .
  • With whom? Official participants with 145 participating countries registred in may and three international organizations (UN – FAO, IFAD and WFPEuropean Union and CERN). Unofficial participants: civil society representatives and private companies. More than 20 millions of visitors are expected to come (from which 6 to 7 millions foreign people – the area can welcome 250 000 visitors a day).
  • How much?  Various formulas exist: pass a day or two days, evenings only (flexible or fixed time, consecutive or not, family package…). Currently for a one day pass count 39 euros, two days consecutive 67 euros, 72 euros for a two days pass (nonconsecutive), nonconsecutive 3 days, 105 euros. In summer, it will be interesting to enjoy the evening formula available from 7pm, only at 5 euros. More information on the official FAQ. These prices however don’t include the housing (very expensive, do not hesitate to bet on Airbnb or to stay out of Milan, for example, at the lakes), transport (see paragraph “how to get there”).

Discover all the practical information ” What is the best time to go? How to get there? How much does it cost? What to do during the Expo, how to organize? What to do away from the Expo? ” in our dedicated page.

To know more, watch the very nice video on the official You tube account of  Expo 2015:


« Feeding the planet: energy for life»

The main question that the participants to Expo 2015 will try to answer to is:

“Is it possible to ensure sufficient, good, healthy and sustainable food for all mankind?”

Nutrition, consumption, agriculture, and production systems will be at the heart of this event. In practice, Expo 2015 will help provide answers to the following key questions (source: official guide theme of Expo 2015):

  • Do we want the world’s demographic equilibrium be guaranteed in this century by the capacity of current food production systems and by the prevention of global food crises?
  • Do we wish to ensure technological means and natural resources to the next generation that will allow them to do likewise with the one that follows?
  • Do we intend to preserve biodiversity, despite its continuing decline?
  • Do we think it necessary to redefine the concept of nutrition, associating it not only to a healthy and balanced diet but also to a more holistic wellbeing which considers historical, cultural and ethno-social aspects alongside the purely nutritional?

The theme will be divided into three broad categories:

  1. The Scientific-Technological approach will deal with production processes and techniques, food security/safety regulations, valuation of natural wealth…
  2. The Socio-Cultural approach, through awareness raising on food and nutrition,  analysis of the importance of food, and its significance both in Art and in different cultures.
  3. The Cooperation and development approach which consists of sharing good practice amongst national governments, International Organizations, Civil Society and other participants.

The « Big Challenge »: to leave a lasting legacy, not only an architectural one

Expo 2015 official hymn by Andrea Bocelli with a music of  Andrea Morricone

In the past, the most famous marks left by international expositions have been architectural (Eiffel Tower, Atomium, Space Needle…). Instead, Italy has set a goal of leaving a lasting legacy in 2015, to ensure that this Expo represent a key step in progressing towards “Feeding the planet”.

This legacy will depend first and foremost on the educational objectives of the Expo, which consist in developing healthier and more sustainable feeding models for the planet.  In practice, as a means to achieve this goal, knowledge and communication documents (paper or internet) could be developed which would enable visitors to deepen their knowledge on key themes of interest, to follow discussion between all the various expo actors, and to implement the best practices learned during the Expo.

An event which promotes sustainability, fine food  and technology

  • A sustainable architecture approach

The Expo guide explains that Expo 2015 will differ from other Universal Expositions because of its architectural approach. Indeed, the expo site will not be characterized by monumental architecture but will focus on natural beauty and on horizontal structures. Participants have been invited to think of their pavilions as one component of the overall theme (for example through the use of recyclable or low energy-consumption materials).

  • Sensory experiences and fine food on the menus of future visitors

The Expo will focus on the visitor experience. The visitor will not be a passive actor but truly involved in various entertainment: tastings, shows, interactive experiences. One of the best ways to make this a rich cultural exchange is its gastronomic aspect, which combines both pleasure of the senses and cultural/traditional discovery.

  • An Expo 2.0

Expo Milan 2015 will capitalize on the capacity of new information and communication technologies and social media, in order to make the visitor experience even more impressive (orientation tools, itineraries, suggestions to avoid queues…). Through Internet-supported applications visitors can prepare their visit ahead of time and deepen knowledge of themes thereafter.

2015 Expo Mascot, Foody

2015 Expo Mascot, Foody

How to approach a visit to the Expo?

  • National pavillons

About sixty countries will be present at the Expo 2015 with their own national pavilion, self build and financed. The list of national pavilion can be fin on the Wikipédia page dedicated.

  • Clusters

Simultaneously to the National pavilions, Expo 2015 will offer a new concept: the Cluster. What is a cluster?  Clusters will bring together the countries that don’t have a national pavilion not on a geographic criterion (like it was in the other World Expo) but around a common theme that links them.

These themes are either chosen by a food identity:

    • Agriculture and Nutrition in Arid Zones: the Challenge of Water Scarcity and Climate Change
      Participating countries: Mauritania, Senegal, Eritrea, Palestine
    • Islands, Sea and Food
      Participating countries: Guinea Bissau
    • Bio-Mediterranean: Health, Beauty and Harmony
      Participating countires: Montenegro, Algeria, Serbia, Liban, Egypt, San Marino, Tunisia, Croatia, Greece, Lybia, Malte, Albania

Or by food sectors:

    • Rice: Abundance and Security
      Participating countries: Sierra Leone, Bangladesh, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar
    • Coffee: the Engine of Ideas
      Participating countries: Kenya, Burundi, Uganda, Costa Rica, Yémen, Guatemala, Salvador, Ethiopie, Rwanda
    • Cocoa: the Food of Gods
      Participating countries: Ghana, Gabon
    • Cereals and Tubers: Old and New Crops
      Participating countries: Bolivia, Haïti, Mozambique, Togo, Zimbabwe
    • Fruit and vegetables
      Participating countries: Gambie, Guinée, Benin, République démocratique du Congo, Zambie, Kyrgyzstan, Ouzbékistan
    • The World of Spices
      Participating countries: Afghanistan, Vanuatu, Tanzanie
  • Thematic areas

The thematic areas must allow visitors to go deeper into some issues in a playful and interactive manner.

  • Pavilion Zero: at the entrance of the Expo area on the theme of the history of food and its impacts on the environment.
  • The future of food district that will focus on the role of technology in the supply chain from production to consumption
  • The children park
  • The biodiversity park in order to explore diverse food system
  • Art and Food

 You can also visit the official website of Expo 2015 if you want to have more information.

[1] Art. 1 of the Paris Convention, 22 novembre 1928.
[2] Source : http://www.expocantiere.expo2015.org/en/worksite


Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

Expo 2015

Logo Expo 2015

En bref, l’Expo 2015 c’est :

  • Quoi ? le thème de l’Expo universelle 2015 est « Nourrir la planète : énergie pour la vie ». La convention de Paris définit l’ Exposition universelle comme une « manifestation qui, quelle que soit sa dénomination, a un but principal d’enseignement pour le public, faisant l’inventaire des moyens dont disposent l’homme pour satisfaire les besoins d’une civilisation et faisant ressortir dans une ou plusieurs branches de l’activité humaine les progrès réalisés ou les perspectives d’avenir »[1].
  • Quand ? 6 mois du 1er mai au 31 octobre 2015. Ouverture de 10 heures à 23 heures.
  • Où ? Dans le nord-ouest de Milan, à une trentaine de minutes du centre (arrêt Rhô Fiera). Le site s’étale sur environ 100 hectares. De nombreuses manifestations et évènements auront lieu dans le centre de Milan, un véritable « Off » culturel, scientifique et artistique. Par ailleurs, accompagneront l’Expo partout en Italie et dans de nombreux pays participants.
  • Qui ? Des participants officiels : plus de 145 pays participants inscrits (dont une cinquantaine dispose d’un pavillon propre) et la présence de trois organisations internationales (l’ONU -FAO, FIDA, PAM- l’Union européenne et le CERN). Des participants non officiels : représentants de la société civile (l’Expo 2015 sera la première exposition universelle avec un pavillon dédié à la société civile) et entreprises. Plus de 20 millions de visiteurs sont attendus dont 6-7 millions de visiteurs étrangers. Le site peut accueillir au maximum 250 000 visiteurs par jour.
  • Combien ? Différentes formules existent : pass un jour ou deux jours, soirée uniquement (date flexibles ou fixes, consécutives ou pas, formules famille…). Actuellement pour un pass un jour comptez 39 euros, deux jours consécutifs 67 euros, deux jours séparés 72 euros, 3 jours séparés, 105 euros. L’été, il deviendra intéressant de profiter de la formule soirée à partir de 19 heures, à seulement 5 euros. Plus d’informations sur la Faq officielle. Sans comptez le logement (très cher, n’hésitez pas à miser sur Airbnb ou à vous logez à proximité de Milan, par exemple vers les lacs), les transports (voir les prix dans le paragraphe comment y aller). Les billets peuvent être achetés sur le site suivant : https://tickets.expo2015.org/

Découvrez toutes les informations pratiques (quand y aller ? Combien de temps y rester ? Combien ça coûte ? Que faire pendant l’Expo, comment s’organiser ?) dans notre page dédiée.

Pour en savoir plus, jetez-un œil sur la vidéo très bien faite (mais en anglais) du compte officiel You tube de l’Expo 2015 :

 Principaux enjeux de l’Expo 2015

L’alimentation, la consommation, l’agriculture et les systèmes de production seront au cœur l’événement. La question majeure posée par l’exposition à laquelle les participants tenteront de répondre est :

« Est-il possible d’assurer à toute l’humanité une alimentation suffisante, de qualité, saine et durable ?

Par ailleurs, le guide de l’Exposition universelle officiel précise que l’événement devra notamment permettre de répondre aux questions suivantes[3] :

  • « Désirons-nous garantir l’équilibre démographique mondial du siècle à venir à travers le maintien substantiel des systèmes de production alimentaire et l’exclusion des risques alimentaires globaux ?
  • Voulons-nous garantir à la prochaine génération les moyens technologiques et les ressources naturelles pour essentielle à la génération à venir?
  • Entendons-nous sauvegarder la biodiversité dans le contexte alors qu’elle est de plus en plus menacée ?
  • Croyons-nous qu’il soit nécessaire de redéfinir le concept de nutrition, en y associant non seulement les qualités de l’alimentation saine et équilibrée, mais aussi celles d’un bien-être complet tenant compte aussi bien des aspects nutritionnels que des aspects historico-culturels et ethnico-sociaux ?»

Un thème décliné en trois univers

  • l’univers scientifique et technologique qui traitera des techniques de production,  des règles sur la sécurité alimentaire, de la  mise en valeur des richesses de la nature.
  • l’univers socioculturel à travers le thème de l’éducation alimentaire, de l’analyse de la nourriture et de sa signification au sein de  l’art  et des différentes cultures.
  • l’univers de la coopération pour le développement qui permettra aux gouvernements nationaux, aux Organisations Internationales, et à la Société Civile de partager leurs bonnes pratiques

Le “défi des défis” : laisser un legs immatériel et pas seulement architectural

Hymne officiel de l’Expo 2015, chanté par Andrea Bocelli sur une musique d’Andrea Morricone

Les Expositions universelles ont principalement laissé un patrimoine architectural bien connu du public (Tour Eiffel, Atomium, Space Needle…). Or en 2015,  l’Italie se donne l’objectif de laisser un héritage immatériel, faisant de l’Expo une étape clé dans le développement du thème de l’alimentation et de l’agriculture durable.

L’objectif d’éducation à des modèles de nutrition à la fois plus sains pour l’Homme et plus durables pour la planète est donc central.

Une organisation tournée vers la durabilité, la gourmandise et la technologie

  • Une approche architecturale durable

Le guide du thème indique que l’Exposition de Milan se différenciera particulièrement des autres Expositions universelles par son approche architecturale. En effet, le paysage de l’Expo ne se basera pas sur l’érection de monuments gigantesques, mais mettra l’accent sur une beauté naturelle et des bâtiments sur structure horizontale. Les pays participants ont donc été invités à concevoir leurs futurs pavillons comme une composante à part entière du thème (par exemple en privilégiant l’utilisation de matériaux de construction recyclables ou peu consommateurs d’énergie). 

  • Des expériences sensorielles et de la gourmandise au menu des futurs visiteurs

L’Expo mettra l’accent sur l’expérience du visiteur. Ce dernier ne sera pas passif mais véritablement impliqué au sein de diverses animations : dégustations, spectacles, expériences interactives. Le volet gastronomique sera ainsi particulièrement mis en valeur afin de faire de cette visite une expérience riche d’échanges culturels qui lie à la fois découverte des cultures et des rites de chacun et plaisir des sens.

  • Une Expo 2.0

Enfin l’Expo Milan 2015 tient à utiliser pleinement les capacités des nouvelles technologies de l’information et de la communication pour rendre la visite encore plus marquante (support d’orientation, suggestion de parcours pendant l’Expo, indication des temps d’attente…). Avec l’aide de supports internet, le visiteur pourra se préparer en amont et approfondir les thèmes après sa visite.

Mascotte de l'Expo2015, Foody

Mascotte de l’Expo2015, Foody

Comment aborder l’Expo sur le site milanais ?

  • Pavillons nationaux

Une soixantaine de pays seront présents sur le site de l’Expo 2015 avec leur propre pavillon national, construit et financé de manière autonome. Liste des pavillons nationaux sur la page Wikipédia dédiée.

  • Clusters

L’Expo Milan 2015 proposera un concept inédit par rapport aux Expositions universelles précédentes, le Cluster. Le cluster réunira des pays participants ne disposant pas d’un pavillon national non pas sur la base d’un critère géographique, comme c’était le cas lors des précédentes expositions universelles, mais autour d’un thème commun.

Ces thèmes seront soit des identités thématiques :

    • Agriculture et nutrition dans les zones arides : le défi du manque d’eau et des changements climatiques
      Pays participants : Mauritanie, Sénégal, Érythrée, Palestine
    • Îles, mer et nourriture
      Pays participants : Guinée Bissau
    • Bio-Méditerranée : santé, beauté et harmonie
      Pays participants : Monténégro, Algérie, Serbie, Liban, Egypte, San Marin, Tunisie, Croatie, Grèce, Libye, Malte, Albanie

Soit des filières alimentaires :

    • Riz-abondance et sécurité.
      Pays participants : Sierra Leone, Bangladesh, Cambodge, République Démocratique populaire du Laos, Myanmar
    • Café le moteur des idées
      Pays participants : Kenya, Burundi, Ouganda, Costa Rica, Yémen, Guatemala, Salvador, Ethiopie, Rwanda
    • Cacao la nourriture des Dieux
      Pays participants : Ghana, Gabon
    • Céréales et Tubercules – Anciennes et nouvelles cultures
      Pays participants : Bolivie, Haiti, Mozambique, Togo, Zimbabwe
    • Fruits et légumes
      Pays participants : Gambie, Guinée, Bénin, République démocratique du Congo, Zambie, Kirghizstan, Ouzbékistan
    • Le monde des épices
      Pays participants : Afghanistan, Vanuatu, Tanzanie
  •  Espaces thématiques

Les espaces thématiques doivent permettre aux visiteurs de creuser certains sujets de manière ludique et interactive.

    • Pavillon zéro : à l’entrée de l’Expo sur le thème de l’histoire de la nourriture et de ses impacts sur l’environnement.
    • Le district de la nourriture du futur qui zoomera sur le rôle des technologies sur les chaines de production, de distribution et de consommation du futur.
    • Le parc des enfants  
    • Le parc de la biodiversité afin d’explorer différents systèmes alimentaires
    • Art et nourriture   

Et n’hésitez pas à vous rendre directement sur le site de l’Expo 2015 pour avoir plus d’infos ! :)

[1] Source : Article 1 de la Convention de Paris, 22 novembre 1928
[2]  Souce : http://www.expocantiere.expo2015.org/fr/le-chantier

3] Source : Guide du thème

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn