Universal Expositions history

“Exhibit the means at man’s disposal for meeting the needs of civilization” and “show prospects for the future”

By Lucien Baylac [Public domain or Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

By Lucien Baylac [Public domain or Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

The first Universal Exposition was held in 1851 in London during the Victorian era on the theme of industry. Greatly promoted and supported by the government and the monarchy, the Universal Exposition allowed Great Britain to illustrate itself as a great industrial power, at the cutting edge of technology. Over the next years, universal expositions made it possible for participating nations to showcase their industrial and technological expertise. For instance, the Eiffel tower was built as a result of the 1889 Universal Exposition.

In 1928, an official Universal Exposition regulatory framework was defined in the Paris Convention, signed by 167 countries. The convention’s first article defines the Exposition’s principal purpose as “education of the public: it may exhibit the means at man’s disposal for meeting the needs of civilization, or demonstrate the progress achieved in one or more branches of human endeavor, or show prospects for the future”.

Since 1931, the Bureau International des Expositions (BIE), located in Paris, is in charge of the respect of the convention and assist the organizing countries. According to the BIE, Universal expositions:

  • “take place every 5 years and have duration of 6 months
  • Participants include countries, international organizations, NGOs, corporations and other institutions
  • The size of the site is unlimited and participants build their own pavilions”.

Since 1851, thirty-three Universal Expositions have been organized, in which 22 are historical expositions (held before the creation of the BIE), and 11 registered expositions. More information on the history of Universal Expositions: -on the official website of BIE: http://www.bie-paris.org/site/en/home/history-of-expos

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

Histoire des Expositions universelles

 « Faire l’inventaire des moyens dont disposent l’homme pour satisfaire les besoins d’une civilisation » et « faire ressortir les progrès réalisés ou les perspectives d’avenir »

By Lucien Baylac [Public domain or Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

By Lucien Baylac [Public domain or Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

  • La première Exposition universelle a eu lieu en 1851 à Londres en pleine époque victorienne sur le thème de l’industrie. Largement promue par le gouvernement et la royauté, l’Exposition universelle avait alors permis  à la Grande Bretagne de s’illustrer comme une grande puissance industrielle à la pointe de la technologie. Les années suivantes, les Expositions universelles ont été l’occasion pour les nations participantes de proposer une vitrine de leurs savoir faire industriels et technologiques. Ainsi, c’est à l’occasion de l’Exposition universelle de 1889 que la Tour Eiffel est construite.
  • En 1928, un cadre réglementaire officiel est défini pour les Expositions universelles par la Convention de Paris, à ce jour signée par 167 pays. L’article  1er de la Convention défini l’exposition comme « une manifestation qui, quelle que soit sa dénomination, a un but principal d’enseignement pour le public, faisant l’inventaire des moyens dont disposent l’homme pour satisfaire les besoins d’une civilisation et faisant ressortir dans une ou plusieurs branches de l’activité humaine les progrès réalisés ou les perspectives d’avenir ».
  • Depuis 1931, le Bureau International des Expositions, situé à Paris doit s’assurer de faire respecter la Convention et d’accompagner les États organisateurs dans l’organisation de l’Expo.  Aujourd’hui, selon le BIE, les expositions universelles :
    • Ont lieu tous les 5 ans et durent 6 mois
    • Les participants sont les États, les Organisations Internationales, les représentants de la Société civile, les entreprises
    • La superficie du site n’est pas limitée et les participants peuvent construire leurs propres pavillons

Depuis 1851, trente-trois Expositions universelles ont été organisées, dont 22 expositions historiques (organisées avant la création du BIE), et 11 enregistrées au BIE.

Plus d’informations (en français) sur l’histoire des expositions universelles :

  • Sur le site officiel de candidature de la France à l’organisation de l’Exposition Universelle de 2025 avec l’interview de Florence Pinot de Villechenon, professeur associée à l’ESCP Europe :

http://www.expofrance2025.com/presentation-des-expositions.html

  • Sur la page histoire du site officiel du Bureau International des Expositions :

http://www.bie-paris.org/site/fr/a-propos/histoire-des-expos  

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn