The Farmers’ Markets in Italy: a growing trend

Interview to Pietro Hausmann of the Campagna Amica Foundation

Last Friday 27th June, Lucia and I have met Pietro Hausmann, who works for Campagna Amica and who deals with the development of its markets in Italy. Campagna Amica is a foundation based in Rome and it is a national network of direct selling of local products, formed by markets, farms, agritourisms, restaurants, urban gardens, small shops and ethical purchasing groups[1].

Pietro Hausmann - Campagna Amica

Pietro Hausmann – Campagna Amica

Our aim was to better understand the growing movement in Italy of the so called “farmers markets”, or local producers’ markets.

We want to get known their history, their organization, their values and their perception of the Expo 2015. The easiest way to do it, was to start from the city we live in, and in particolar, from the market that Lucia visits every weekend.

We turn up for the meeting at the market which hosts Campagna Amica at Circo Massimo and after some minutes we see someone coming in our direction, driving a scooter. We expected to meet an elderly man… At least, according to the Italian standards, those who have such an employment cannot be younger than fifty years old. But, when he took off his crash helmet, we discovered a nice young man: Italy is changing, what a wonderful thing! Italy is counting on young people! This vision gives us a great enthusiasm: probably, there is really a chance for us, young people!

Let’s start with our interview!

Which is the history of the Campagna Amica Foundation and how has the idea to organize local Farmers’ Markets in Italy, developed?

Athe beginning of 2000 the small producers were in a very critical situation, after the crisis of the nineties. A contributing factor to this situation could be the rise of supermarkets and hypermarkets. As a result, the small producers were not able anymore to sell their products, because they lacked the commercial outlets.

For this reason, Coldiretti, the main National agricultural organization, formed by many small agricultural associated farms, has intervened to help small producers. This is the moment when Campagna Amica has been created. Its aim is to support the agricultural farms in the direct selling of their products and in the increase in the value of the territory and the sustainability.

Poster Campagna Amica

Poster Campagna Amica

Between 2000 and 2008 some markets across the National territory have been organized. These acted like sales channels of local products, which were but only occasional events. At first, the main objective was to try to understand which was the reaction of the consumers.

We noticed that the people coming to this type of markets were not only interested in buying the products, but also they wanted to interact with the producers. The idea of the local Farmers’ markets, as an efficient support to the local agricultural farms starts from here.

In 2008, we decided to create markets at the regional level, all around Italy, where the producers come from all over the interested region in order to sell their products, which clearly offer a greater quality and sustainability, because they are produced within the region (in some regions within a maximum of 250 km – the so called “km 0″).

These markets have had a great success not only because of the positive reaction of the consumers, but also because all the agricultural farms, which were going bankrupt, in 2 years were able to pay off debts and were even able to make new investments, thanks to this new privileged sales channel.

How do the markets of Campagna Amica work?

Being part of Coldiretti, the Foundation receives its support and use its offices which are present in every province. The farmers themselves are members of Coldiretti. Only in the Lazio region there are more than 500 members and, therefore, more than 500

Market of Circo Massimo -  Campagna Amica

Market of Circo Massimo – Campagna Amica

farms.

In 2011 from 600 markets, we have created 1000 markets. We started from zero, with a very efficient communication campaign  based on the made in Italy. Today more than 1200 markets exist all over Italy, with a permanent presence in every capital of the province. The areas where the markets take place are usually deserted areas, or areas which are not used anymore, which are granted by the local authorities.

Apart from the big Mercato di Campagna Amica del Circo Massimo, opened in the weekends, in an area which was previously a dump for the cars of the public utility, other ten markets are organized, in Rome, in the city squares or other public places. This way, Campagna Amica promotes an increase in value of the territory, in favour of a greater sustainability.

Do you support or promote the biological production?

There are some biological producers in our markets, but we lack a real policy which aims at promoting the biological. Unfortunately it is still very difficult for the farmers to start or to cultivate biological productions.

How many people do they work in the foundation Campagna Amica?

We are more or less 8 people. The majority is women and young people. Indeed, our contribution as young people has been fundamental in the development and realization of this idea.

How did you get here?

After quitting the university, I went to New York to work for an Italian firm which sells italian products and I dealt with marketing and logistic. This experience has enabled me to enrich my knowledge and expertise and, of course, to learn the language very good. This gave me the chance to be part of Campagna Amica, when I went back to Rome.

What does the Expo 2015 represent for the foundation Campagna Amica?

Expo 2015

Expo 2015

The Expo 2015 is such an important event for us, that it represents the final stage of a project started some time ago, a unique opportunity to make known Campagna Amica to the entire world and to widespread the values in which we believe.

The food becomes everyday more “fashionable”, there are always tv programmes, events, blogs speaking about food. It is such a growing trend, which can turn counterproductive. This is why it is essential to launch a message of food sustainability and increase in value of the local products.

Campagna Amica will be present at the Expo in the Italian Pavillion and we will organize also a permanent market for 6 months in Parco Sempione in Milan.

How do you explain the success of the markets of Campagna Amica? What do the consumers look for?

There is a growing demand, from the consumers, of a direct contact with the people who cultivate the land. People want to know, reasonably, where does the food they eat come from, and above all how they cultivate it.

We often organize, within our markets, socio-cultural events, (when the place allows it, like in the case of Rome), like for example workshops on food and agricultural products for children, tasting and small catering with local products and even visits to small vegetable gardens that are present in some of our markets.

Variety of products at the market in Circo Massimo

Variety of products at the market in Circo Massimo

The people who come to visit our markets do not come here just to do the shopping. They often come here to spend some time in a sociable place. On average, they stay here one hour and a half: they chat with the producers, they have lunch here with the local products. It becomes a real life experience, alternative to the everyday life. This way, they discover old values such as the farmland, the countryside and the farm job, and above all, they discover the importance of the quality of the food they eat. In a sense, the consumers in these markets represent Ethical Purchaising Groups, because they give the chance to the consumers to meet directly with the farmers and to discover the products of our territory. The problem of the price (which is usually higher, but not always, than the supermarkets), is extinguished thanks to the quality of the products. In other words, we have beat the high price with the high quality!

This is a unique way to recreate that strong link with the farmer, which was taken for granted in the past, and to discover how rich is the land where we live in!

Thank you Pietro for this breath of hope you have given us with your testimony!

Laura


Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

Les Farmers’ Market en Italie: un phénomène en pleine croissance

Interview de Pietro Haussman de la fondation italienne Campagna Amica

Nous avons rencontré avec Lucia le 27 juin Pietro Haussman, qui travaille pour la fondation italienne Campagna Amica (la « campagne amicale » en français). Pietro est en charge du développement des farmer’s market en Italie pour la fondation. Cette dernière, qui a son siège à Rome, a développé un réseau national de vente direct de produits locaux en Italie à travers des marchés, des fermes, des agritourismes, restaurants, potagers urbains et groupements d’achat et de vente.

Pietro Hausmann - Campagna Amica

Pietro Hausmann – Campagna Amica

Notre objectif était de mieux comprendre le phénomène, en pleine croissance en Italie, des Farmer’s market, en français des marchés de producteurs locaux. Nous voulions connaitre leur histoire, leur organisation, leurs valeurs et aussi leur perception de l’Exposition universelle 2015. Et pour ce faire, quoi de plus simple et logique que de partir de la ville dans laquelle nous vivons, Rome, et en particulier du marché que fréquente Lucia à Rome.

Nous avions rendez-vous avec Pietro près du « Circo Massimo » où est localisé le marché des producteurs locaux qui se déroule tous les weekends. Après quelques minutes, nous voyons quelqu’un arriver en scooter. Nous nous attendions à voir arriver un homme d’un certain âge. En effet, bien souvent en Italie les personnes avec des responsabilités dépassent la cinquantaine…Mais non, sous le casque nous avons découvert un charmant jeune homme : vive l’Italie qui change et parie sur les jeunes !

Mais revenons à notre interview ;)

Quelle est l’histoire de la fondation Campagna Amica et comment est née l’idée d’organiser des marchés de producteurs locaux en Italie ?

Au début des années 2000, les petits agriculteurs de trouvaient dans une situation critique après la crise du secteur agricole des années 90. Le boom des supermarchés et des hypermarchés n’aidant pas, les agriculteurs n’arrivaient plus à vendre leurs produits, car ils n’existaient plus suffisamment de débouchés commerciaux.

Poster Campagna Amica

Poster Campagna Amica

Pour faire face à cette situation, la Coldiretti, la principale organisation agricole au niveau national en Italie composée de nombreuses entreprises agricoles de petite dimension est intervenue pour prêter main forte aux petits agriculteurs. C’est ainsi qu’est née la fondation Campagna Amica, qui  vise à soutenir les entreprises agricoles dans la vente directe de leurs produits, à promouvoir le territoire et la durabilité écologique.

Entre 2000 et 2008, plusieurs marchés des producteurs furent organisés un peu partout en Italie, mais seulement de manière occasionnelle. L’objectif initial était de comprendre quelle était la réponse des consommateurs.

Nous avons réalisé que les personnes qui fréquentaient ces marchés n’étaient pas seulement intéressées à acheter mais aussi à entrer en contact direct avec les producteurs. De là est née l’idée de créer des farmers’market locaux, comme instruments de soutien aux entreprises agricoles à l’échelle locale.

En 2008, nous décidons d’instituer au niveau régional dans toute l’Italie des marchés où les producteurs de toute la région pourraient vendre leurs produits, qui offrent clairement une plus grande qualité et durabilité, car produits au niveau régional (dans un périmètre de 250 km maximum pour certaines régions –appelé en Italie le Km0).

Ces marchés ont eu un grand succès, avec une réponse positive des consommateurs, mais aussi un impact économique positif pour les agriculteurs dont les exploitations, qui frôlaient la faillite, ont réussi en deux ans à se désendetter et ont pu réaliser de nouveaux investissements, grâce à ce nouveau canal de vente privilégié.

Comment s’organisent les marchés de Campagna Amica ?

Etant liée à la Coldiretti, la fondation bénéficie de son soutien et utilise ses bureaux présents dans chaque province. Les agriculteurs présents dans les marchés sont bien entendu membres de la Coldiretti. Dans la Région du Lazio où est située Rome, il y a par exemple plus de 500 membres et donc plus de 500 entreprises agricoles.

Marché de Circo Massimo -  Campagna Amica

Marché de Circo Massimo – Campagna Amica

Entre 2008 et 2011, nous sommes passés de 600 à plus de 1000 marchés. Nous sommes partis de zéro, avec une campagne efficace de communication basée sur le made in Italy. Aujourd’hui il existe près de 1 200 marchés dans toute l’Italie, avec une présence fixe dans tous les chefs-lieux de province. Les endroits qui hébergent les marchés sont habituellement des zones abandonnées ou n’étant plus utilisées, qui sont concédées par les collectivités locales.

A Rome, en plus du grand marché de Campagna Amica du Circo Massimo, est ouvert le samedi et le dimanche dans ce qui est était précédemment une décharge de voiture des entreprises municipales. Une dizaine d’autres marchés sont aussi organisés sur les places ou dans d’autres lieux publics. Ainsi, Campagna Amica est également devenu un prometteur de la revalorisation du territoire, allant dans le sens de plus de durabilité.

Dans l’ensemble de la région Lazio, il y a 40 marchés de Campagna Amica qui rassemblent les agriculteurs de la région pour vendre leurs produits locaux.

Soutenez-vous et promouvez-vous en particulier la filière bio ?

Des agriculteurs bio sont présents dans nos marchés, mais il manque encore une véritable politique destinée à promouvoir le bio. Malheureusement, il est encore difficile pour les agriculteurs de lancer et de fonctionner en production biologique.

Combien êtes-vous au sein de la fondation ?

Nous sommes plus ou moins huit personnes, dont une grande partie, sont des femmes et des jeunes. La contribution des jeunes a en effet été déterminante dans le développement et la réalisation de ce projet.

Comment es-tu arrivé à travailler à la fondation?

Après avoir quitté l’université, je suis allé travailler à New York pour une entreprise italienne qui vendait des produits italiens, à l’intérieur de laquelle je m’occupais de marketing et de logistique. Cette expérience m’a permis d’enrichir mon bagage culturel et de connaissances, et bien entendu, de maitriser l’anglais. Ce fut ma carte maitresse quand je suis rentré à Rome qui m’a permis de rejoindre Campagna Amica.

Que représente  l’Exposition universelle 2015 pour Campagna Amica ?

Expo 2015

Expo 2015

L’Expo 2015 est sans aucun toute un évènement très important pour nous, qui représente la dernière étape de notre projet, c’est une occasion unique pour faire connaitre Campagna Amica au monde entier et de défendre les valeurs auxquelles nous croyons.

La nourriture est de plus en plus à la mode, des programmes télé en parle en continuation, des initiatives, des blogs se spécialisent sur la nourriture et la cuisine. Cette expansion de la thématique est telle que cela peut devenir contre-productif. C’est pourquoi il est important de lancer un message en termes de durabilité de l’alimentation et de valorisation des territoires.
Campagna Amica sera présente au sein pavillon italien pendant l’Expo et organisera également un marché permanent pendant les six mois de l’Expo dans le parc Sempione, situé dans le centre-ville de Milan.

Comment expliques-tu le succès des marchés de Campagna Amica ? Que recherchent les consommateurs ?

Il émerge de plus en plus de la part des consommateurs une demande croissance d’établir un contact direct avec ceux qui travaillent la terre. Les gens veulent savoir, à raison, d’où provient leur nourriture et surtout comment elle est produite.

Dans nos marchés, nous organisons souvent des évènements sociaux culturels (quand l’espace le permet, comme dans le cas de Rome), par exemple des laboratoires à destination des enfants sur la nourriture et les produits de la terre, des dégustations de produits locaux, des visites de potagers urbains que nous avons plantés dans certains marchés.

Varieté de produits dans le marché de Circo Massimo

Varieté de produits dans le marché de Circo Massimo

Les personnes qui fréquentent nos marchés ne le font pas seulement avec l’idée de faire les courses. Le plus souvent, elles y passent une matinée entière pour socialiser. En moyenne, elles restent entre une heure et une heure et demi, discutent avec les producteurs, décident de manger sur place. En bref, cela devient une véritable expérience qui change du quotidien. Et c’est ainsi qu’également qu’il est possible de rédécouvrir les valeurs de la campagne et du travail paysan, surtout l’importance de la qualité de ce qu’on mange. D’une certaine manière, les consommateurs de nos marchés constituent une forme d’AMAP, car le marché permet d’établir un contact direct avec des agriculteurs et de redécouvrir les productions de son territoire. Le problème du prix (habituellement plus élevé, mais pas toujours comparé aux supermarchés) est de toute façon amorti grâce à la qualité des produits. En d’autres mots, nous avons défait le prix par la qualité.

En pratique, un lien fort est créé avec l’agriculteur, lien qui était jadis acquis, et on peut rédouvrir la richesse du territoire dans lequel nous vivons !

Merci Pietro pour cette vague d’espoir qu’apporte ton témoignage !

Laura

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

Leave a Reply