I have read for you: “Feeding mankind” of Louis Malassis

nourrir-les-hommes-louis-malassisLet’s inaugurate a new type of article, the ” I have read/watched for you “. Indeed, it’s been 4 months since our blog is online and almost nine months since Laura, Juliette and I had the idea to create it, and yet thanks to the people we were able to meet or simply the circumstances, we happened (and we will in the future) to read books or to see movies or reports on the food and agriculture which made an impression on us and what we would like to share with you in the prospect of the 2015 Universal Exposition. Today, let’s start with “Feeding manking” written by the engineer and French professor, Louis Malassis.
Have a nice reading and don’t hesitate to comment!

Lucia

To sum up

Only with 128 pages (which can be read really quickly and easily), the author managed to summarize and explain the complex history of how mankind faced the challenge of feeding itself and the many challenges that still remain.

1) Food history: the three food ages

Louis Malassis, who focused his analysis on the European territory, distinguished three big periods in the history of mankind: the pre-agricultural age,  the agricultural age and the agro-industrial age.

” If  mankind appeared on January 1st, agriculture would arise only in the last fifteen days of December and the agro-industry on December 31st “

Ages alimentaires

” While trying to feed, humanity invented the world, made its weapons and his tools, organized the society ” Maguelonne Toussaint Samat

 

Pre-agricultural Age

Agricultural Age

 

Agro-industrial Age

Period

From the beginning of humanity, that is  approximately 3M of year ago (in Europe from – 500 000 BC), to -10 000 BC

In Europe, from 5 000 BC to the end of XVIIIth century

Started with the industrial revolution from XVIII, developed during the XIX, affirmation during the XXth

Main features of human society - Men feed by going hunting and by picking

- Very fine knowledge of natural resources

- Low density of population and numerous population movements

- The man became farmer: farmers represent about 80 % of the population

- Phenomenon of settlement to organize the harvests.

- Movement of domestication of species

- 7 basis cereals: wheat, barley, pea, chickpea, lens, vetch, linen

- Urban areas development which remains limited: maximum 20 % of the population  

- Period marked by «the growing role of science in the food-processing development” , the ” generalization of the market food economy, the participation of the industry in the process of agricultural and food production “.

- Growing urbanization

- Improvement of the farmers’ social status  

« Needs and pleasure are the engine of food history: once needs are satisfied, the search for pleasure grows”

chevalier apocalypse

So, it become clear that agriculture and agro-industry are recent phenomena which engraves in the  long history of humanity since its appearance approximately 3 million years ago up to now. According to Louis Malassis, the agricultural age has never allowed the society to overcome the “three Horsemen of the Apocalypse» which were threatening it - starvation, epidemics and wars – and this for three main reasons:

  • Wars which annihilates stocks and harvests
  • A limited agricultural productivity
  • Social systems unfavourable to the farmers: often fallen in servitude. A minority, less than 5 % of the population owns the land

« The agriculture represents a fundamental break in the cultural development of mankind »

The transition to agro-industrial age is characterized by many social changes: farmers become landowners and are more and more educated. Technology revolutionizes the way to produce – the first chemical fertilizer are used from the XIX, increasing mechanization – and to eat food (cold chain, conservation). The industrial revolution triggered the significant decrease of the farmers’ share in the working population. The author quote the example of the United Kingdom where the “farming population went from 47% in 1830 to 9% in 1950”.  The twentieth century truly marked the beginning of the motorized agriculture. 

“The social status of farmer is the main explanation of food history. Food history is a social story”

 2) The unfinished fight

« Plants and animals canvassed and domesticated to produce our food. The development of a scientific rationality full of hopes. The experience of three million years! And nevertheless an unfinished fight: scarcities and famines remain in certain areas of the world”

In this book, Louis Malassis insists on the fact that food history failed until now to fill the ” world imbalance” in terms of food consumption in spite of the increase of the agricultural productivity. One of the explanations is that the way we eat is fundamentally inequitable. Louis Malassis distinguishes 3 agro-nutritional models: the western model (final 3500 calories a day and inhabitant), intermediary (2800) and poor (2000).

To solve the food equation, Louis Malassis underlines that the population and the demographic evolution remain “strategic playing variables” playing a “central role in the food balance”.

“In the long term, the food satisfaction depends essentially on the outcome of the race between population and production”

Besides, It is necessary to keep in mind besides the fact that “men eat not only to feed but also for his pleasure “.

3. Feeding mankind

“And tomorrow? Will the hunger be eradicated? Will the protected nature produce in a sustainable way the bread of the man? Can humanity become wise? We need to want it and to be able to make it happen! “

In his last chapter, Louis Malassis wonders and questions us: how shall we manage to feed people in the future? He asks besides an essential question: what kind of man shall we have to feed? ” the one who consumes equivalent 1,5 kg cereal or 3 kg ” (cf. Importance of the consumption of meat)?

«The accumulation of the wealth and the overconsumption in the North and on the other side of the poverty and under consumption in the South questions the whole humanity “

According to the author “to feed the humanity at a satisfactory level would imply to reduce the consumption in the North and to increase it in the South, and to use globalization as an efficient way to reach a better world food balance”.  Louis Malassis distinguishes 5 factors to answer the food equation:

  • Food consumption
  • Improvement of the productivity of the production factors
  • Intensification of the agricultural production
  • Possibility of producing commodities by other ways
  • International exchange

Louis Malassis underlines in his conclusion the necessity “to create a new agriculture which would insure the preservation and the renewal of the resources. Its basis would be the integration of the agronomic and ecological sciences “. And to this end, each one of us can do something because “eat is also a political act”.

My opinion

I choose this book at the library because its title strongly reminded me the theme of the 2015 world Expo: “Feed the planet: energy for life”, and I have to say that its reading made an impression on me, in particular its historic part, and my only regret was to learn that the author had died in 2007. Indeed, we could never meet him and ask him: are we heading towards the fourth food age – the one that will allow “to feed mankind” and “to feed the planet “?

Lucia

 If you want to know more, just read the book ;)

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

J’ai lu pour vous : « Nourrir les Hommes » de Louis Malassis

nourrir-les-hommes-louis-malassisNous inaugurons une nouvelle rubrique, le « j’ai lu/vu  pour vous ». En effet depuis 4 mois que ce blog est publié et depuis presque neuf mois que Laura, Juliette et moi avons eu l’idée de le lancer, grâce aux personnes que nous avons pu rencontrer ou simplement aux circonstances, nous avons été amenées (et nous serons amenées) à lire des livres, à voir des films ou des reportages sur les thèmes de l’alimentation et/ou de l’agriculture qui nous marquent et que nous souhaiterions partager avec vous dans la perspective de l’Exposition universelle 2015.

Aujourd’hui, je vais vous parler de « Nourrir les hommes » écrit par l’ingénieur et professeur français, Louis Malassis.

Bonne lecture, n’hésitez pas à laisser vos commentaires ! Lucia

En bref

En seulement 128 pages (qui véritablement se lisent très rapidement et avec plaisir), l’auteur réussi à résumer et à expliquer l’histoire complexe de la manière dont l’humanité s’est organisée pour se nourrir et les nombreux défis qui se posent avec toujours plus d’acuité pour continuer à le faire.

1) De l’histoire de l’alimentation : Les trois âges alimentaires

Louis Malassis, qui s’est concentré dans son analyse sur le territoire européen, distingue trois grandes périodes dans l’histoire de l’homme : l’âge pré-agricole, agricole et agro-industriel :

« Si l’homme apparaissait un 1er janvier, l’agriculture ne surviendrait que dans la seconde quinzaine de décembre et l’agro-industrie le 31 décembre »

Ages alimentaires

« C’est en courant derrière sa nourriture que l’humanité a inventé le monde, fabriqué ses armes et ses outils, organisé la société » Maguelonne Toussaint Samat

 

L’âge pré-agricole

L’âge agricole

 

L’âge agro-industriel

Période

Du début de l’humanité, soit il y a environ 3M d’année (en Europe de -500 000 av JC), jusqu’à -10 000 av JC

En Europe, à partir de 5 000 av JC jusqu’à la fin du XVIII

Naissance avec la révolution industrielle du XVIII, développement au XIX, affirmation au XX

 

Principales caractéristiques des sociétés humaines - Les hommes s’alimentent en chassant et en cueillant.

- Connaissance très fines des ressources de la nature

- Faible densité de population et nombreux déplacements

- L’homme devient producteur : les paysans représentent près de 80 % de la population

- Phénomène de sédentarisation pour organiser les récoltes.

- Mouvement de domestication des espèces

- 7 céréales de base : blé, orge, pois, pois chiche, lentille, vesce, lin

- Développement des villes qui reste mesuré : maximum 20 % de la population  

- Période marquée par « le rôle croissant des sciences  dans le développement agro-alimentaire », la « généralisation de l’économie alimentaire marchande, la participation de l’industrie au processus de production agricole et alimentaire ».

- Urbanisation croissante

- Amélioration du statut social des paysans

 

« La nécessité et le plaisir sont les moteurs de l’histoire alimentaire : la nécessité satisfaite, la recherche du plaisir s’étend »

chevalier apocalypseAinsi, en s’inscrivant dans une histoire longue de l’humanité, depuis son apparition il y a environ 3 millions d’années jusqu’à nos jours, il devient évident que l’agriculture et l’agro-industrie sont des phénomènes récents. L’âge agricole n’a pas jamais permis selon l’auteur aux sociétés de vaincre les « trois chevaliers de l’apocalypse » qui les menaçaient- les famines, les épidémies et les guerres – et ceux pour trois raisons principales selon Louis Malassis :

  • La guerre qui anéantit les stocks et les récoltes
  • Une productivité agricole limitée
  • Des systèmes sociaux défavorables aux paysans : souvent tombés en servitude. Une minorité, moins de 5 % de la population contrôlant la terre

 « L’agriculture constitue une rupture fondamentale dans le développement culturel de l’homme »

Le passage à l’âge agro-industriel se caractérise par de nombreux changements sociaux : les terres reviennent aux paysans, ces derniers sont de plus en plus instruits. La technologie révolutionne la manière de faire de l’agriculture - les premiers engrais chimiques sont utilisés à partir du XIX, mécanisation croissante – et de se nourrir (chaîne du froid, conservation). La Révolution industrielle a comme conséquence une diminution drastique de la part des agriculteurs dans la population active. L’auteur cite l’exemple du Royaume-Unis où « la population agricole passe de 47 % en 1830 à 9 % en 1950 ». Le vingtième siècle marque véritablement les débuts de l’agriculture motorisée.

« Le statut social du paysan est explicatif de l’histoire de l’agriculture et de l’alimentation. L’Histoire de l’alimentation est une histoire sociale  »

 

2) Le Combat inachevé

« Des plantes et des animaux prospectés et domestiqués pour produire nos aliments. Le développement d’une rationalité scientifique porteuse d’espoirs. L’acquis de trois millions d’années ! Et pourtant un combat inachevé : disettes et famines subsistent dans certaines zones du monde »

Louis Malassis insiste que sur le fait que l’histoire de l’alimentation a pour l’instant échoué à combler le « déséquilibre mondial » en matière alimentaire malgré l’augmentation de la productivité agricole. Une des explications est que la manière dont nous alimentons est fondamentalement inéquitable. Louis Malassis distingue 3 modèles agro-nutritionnels[1] : le modèle occidental (3500 calories finales par jour et habitant), intermédiaire (2800) et pauvre (2000).

Pour réussir à résoudre l’équation alimentaire, Louis Malassis souligne que la population et l’évolution  démographique restent des « variables stratégiques » jouant un « rôle central dans l’équilibre alimentaire ».

« À long terme, la satiété alimentaire dépend essentiellement de l’issue de la course entre population et production »

Il faut par ailleurs toujours garder à l’esprit le fait que « l’homme ne consomme pas seulement pas pour se nourrir mais aussi pour son plaisir ».

3) Nourrir les hommes

« Et demain ? La faim sera-t-elle éliminée ? La nature protégée pourra-t-elle produire durablement le pain des hommes ? L’humanité pourra-t-elle devenir sage ? Il nous faut vouloir et pouvoir le faire ! »

Dans son dernier chapitre, Louis Malassis s’interroge et nous interroge : comment arriverons-nous à nourrir les hommes dans le futur ? Il pose par ailleurs une question essentielle : quel homme devrons-nous nourrir, « celui qui consomme 1,5 kg équivalent céréale ou 3 kg » (cf. Importance de la consommation de viande) ?

« L’accumulation de la richesse et de la surconsommation au nord et de la pauvreté et sous-consommation au sud interpellent l’humanité entière »

Selon l’auteur « nourrir l’humanité à un niveau satisfaisant impliquerait de réduire la consommation au nord et de l’augmenter au sud, et de faire participer l’échange international à l’équilibre alimentaire mondial ». Louis Malassis distingue enfin 5 facteurs pour répondre à l’équation alimentaire :

  • La consommation alimentaire
  • L’amélioration des productivités des facteurs de production
  • L’intensification de la production agricole
  • La possibilité de produire des denrées par d’autres voies
  • L’échange international

Louis Malassis souligne dans sa conclusion la nécessité de « créer une nouvelle agriculture qui assurerait la conservation et le renouvellement des ressources. Sa base serait l’intégration des sciences agronomiques et écologiques ». Et pour cela, chacun peut faire sa part car « manger est aussi un acte politique ».

-        Mon avis

J’avais pris le livre car son titre me faisait fortement penser au thème de l’Expo 2015 : « Nourrir la planète : énergie pour la vie », et je dois dire que sa lecture m’a véritablement marquée, notamment sa partie historique, et qu’à la dernière page, en allant voir sur Wikipédia des informations sur l’auteur, j’étais juste navrée d’apprendre que ce dernier était mort en 2007. En effet, nous ne pourrions jamais le rencontrer ni l’interviewer…et lui demander : dirigeons-nous vers un quatrième âge alimentaire – celui qui permettra de « nourrir les hommes » et de « nourrir la planète » ?

Lucia

Et si vous voulez en savoir plus, lisez le livre ;)


 

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

Leave a Reply