2015 Milan Universal Exposition: let’s be part of History!

Storia Expo2015
Feed the planet energy for life: “2015 Expo  is not a fair. To fascinate the entire world, we should guarantee a great history” Those words pronounced the 10th of March 2014 by the General Commissioner for 2015 Milano Expo, Giuseppe de Sala, represent perfectly the dimension of the challenge: make of 2015 Expo a key step for History. And it will not be possible without an active participation of the civil society, US, YOU. In particular from Milano citizens and Italians, who are already starting to implement actions, but more broadly every citizen in its own country. The “Big Challenge”: to leave a lasting legacy In the past, the most famous marks left by international expositions have been architectural (Eiffel Tower, Atomium, Space Needle…). Instead, Italy has set a goal of leaving a lasting legacy in 2015, to ensure that this Expo represent a key step in progressing towards “Feeding ...

Sustainable brunch:loving food, localness, seasonality, patience and courage on the menu

brunch me up
Interview of Matthias Behar, CEO of Brunch me up  Matthias is a 25 years old young man who is working since one year on the creation of a brunch home delivery company in the city of Aix en Provence, France. He intends his company to respect the principles of sustainable development. But concretely how to reconcile pleasure of a nice brunch and sustainability? Well this interview may help us figure it out. How did you have the idea of creating a brunch home delivery company? It was a Sunday morning in Lille, it was cold and my fridge was empty. We wanted to go for a brunch, but it was impossible to book anywhere. Everything was full and I realized there could a place for this type of activity. What are the main obstacles to create your company? First, the regulations in force, in particular hygiene and safety standards. Then, ...

2015 Expo news of the week

Flash Actu 2
From Friday 21st to Friday 28th of February Have a nice reading and then a nice weekend!  Lucia Quotation of the week: “2015 Expo don’t want to be about showing off taking time and energy building architectural monuments: we want this event to leave a lasting and ethic legacy, which is according to us a priority, with new scenarios to tackle nutrition issues of the next millennium”, Giuseppe Sala, 2015 Expo commissioner for Italian government, 27th of February on the occasion of the Vatican signing of participation protocol.[1] # Italy The new Prime minister of Italy, Matteo Renzi said that « 2015 Expo in Milan should be a driving force for Italy » and that « what will happen next year will surely represent a moment of reference for the future » on the occasion of a speech to the Senate the 24th of February[2]. The new Italian minister of agriculture, Maurizio Martina opening ...

Interview of Wakao Hanaoka of Greenpeace Japan

Imagine del sito web di Greenpeace Giappone
“The combination of overfishing, distributing and consuming is the major seafood-related issue in Japan” Last august, my Japanese roommate and friend, Mari, who worked some years within Greenpeace Japon, and who followed our project of the blog, has left for Japan, on holiday. We took this opportunity to ask her to contact one of her ex colleague. No sooner said than done! Grazie Mari! The responsible of the ocean campaign draws us a very complete picture of the situation of fishing and seafood products consumption, underlining the difficulty to implement a more sustainable fishing and to make the Japanese people aware of the consequences of their consumption habits. The Fukushima catastrophe seems, however, somehow, to  change the situation. Another interesting information is that if, on one hand, the Expo 2015 is receiving a growing media attention in Italy (I saw last time in some touristic shops, this coffee cup with ...

2015 Expo news of the week

Point Actu 1 - Expo2015
From friday 14th to friday 21st of february This news section, which rate of publication will vary according to events, will follow 2015 Expo preparation focusing on sustainable development issues and on the themes of sustainable nutrition and agriculture. Have a nice reading and then a nice weekend!  Lucia Quotation of the week: “Expectations are growing day by day”, Vicente Gonzalez Loscertales, the secretary general of The International Exhibitions talking about 2015 Expo, Bureau in Bergamo, 20th of February # 2015 Expo preparation Clusters Participants Meeting in Bergamo, 19 and 20th of February: 72 countries, 295 delegates have talked about the clusters preparation level of progress. For the record, clusters are thematic spaces that will link countries between them on a common theme (ex: agriculture and nutrition in arid zone; coffee…). The “sustainable plus”: Expo2015 Company announced an objective of 84 % of differentiated waste collection[1]. # News from 2015 ...

Food consumption polytheism: the era of eclectic nutrition and paradoxes

Polythéisme alimentaire
Last 22 of January in Milan, I had the chance to attend a conference with Giuseppe de Rita, a famous Italian sociologist and president of the Centro Studi Investimenti Sociali (Censis) on the food consumption polytheism. This conference was organized within the framework of a course of lectures organized by the foundation of the Italian newspaper Corriere della Serra entitled “Banquet table: between food and knowledge”. Our relation to food, a determinant frame of reference for understanding society As he introduced the conference, Giuseppe De Rita insisted on the fact that our relation to food was essential to understand our society. Since the end of Second World War – period in which food was considered as precious, rare and not really diversified – and in particular from the fifties and sixties economic growth was at the origin of an important increase of food consumption, food becoming more abundant and accessible. ...

2015 Universal Expo: let’s mobilize for a more sustainable nutrition and agriculture

Lu - Banner simple
2015 Universal Exposition: a great opportunity to inform, raise awareness and mobilize on sustainable agriculture and food consumption issues The 2015 Universal Exposition will take place in Milan, Italy with a main theme of « Feeding the planet: energy for life”. To date, 141 countries have confirmed their participation to the Expo, which will take place for six months from the 1st of May to the 31st of October. Sustainable food consumption, agriculture and productive systems will be the main focuses of this event, meant to bring together citizens, nations and international and civil society organizations. To better picture the nature and magnitude of the event, Italy foresees over 20 million visitors. The 2015 Expo therefore constitutes a remarkable opportunity to inform, raise awareness, and mobilize widespread public participation and consciousness on sustainable food consumption and agriculture. This is particularly noteworthy because 2015 will be a key year for our ...

Agritourism: a beautiful way to discover gastronomic culture and its agricultural features

DSC_0030
Agritourism can be defined as an alternative form of tourism which promotes the discovery of farmlands and which enables people to go ‘off the beaten track’ to learn about outstanding landscapes and local agricultural know-how. What is agritourism in Italy? Agritourism includes all relevant touristic activities organized on a fully functional farm which has obtained the requested authorizations to be considered agritouristic. In Italy, agritourism is regulated by a specific law, law number 26 of 20th February 2006, which lists the agrotouristic activities  that can be carried on by such a defined farm, including: Accommodation; Food services: local products cultivated by the farm or by neighboring agricultural companies; Tastings, including of wine and oil; Leisure, cultural and educational activities, or sport; The national law is then divided into different regional normative frameworks that can be strict. An ongoing success This type of rural tourism has seen an increasing success particularly ...

Exposition universelle 2015 de Milan : faisons l’histoire !

Storia Expo2015
Nourrir la planète énergie pour la vie : « L’Expo 2015 n’est pas une foire comme tant d’autres. Pour fasciner le monde entier, nous devons être les garants d’une grande histoire». Ces mots prononcés le 10 mars 2014 par le Commissaire du Gouvernement Italien pour Expo, Giuseppe de Sala, représentent parfaitement l’ampleur du défi : faire de l’Exposition universelle 2015 de Milan une étape clé dans l’histoire. Et cela ne pourra pas être fait sans une participation active de la société civile, NOUS, VOUS. En particuliers les milanais et les italiens, déjà au rendez-vous, mais plus largement chaque citoyen dans son propre pays. Le défi des défis : laisser un legs immatériel Les Expositions universelles sont principalement connues du grand public pour leur legs architectural : de la Tour Eiffel à Paris au Space Needle de Seattle. Or en 2015, l’Italie et Milan se donnent l’objectif que l’Exposition universelle laisse d’abord un legs immatériel et ...

Brunch durable : gourmandise, local, saisonnalité, patience et courage au menu

brunch me up
Rencontre avec Matthias Behar, CEO de Brunch me up  Matthias a 25 ans et travaille depuis plus d’un an sur la création d’une entreprise de livraison de brunch à domicile dans la ville d’Aix en Provence. Le fonctionnement de son entreprise s’inscrit également dans une démarche de développement durable. Alors comment concilier plaisir de savourer un brunch et  alimentation durable ? Voici une interview qui vous permettra d’en savoir plus ! Comment as-tu eu l’idée de ce concept ? C’était un dimanche matin, à Lille, il faisait froid et mon frigo était vide, nous avons eu alors l’envie d’aller bruncher mais impossible de trouver de la place, tout était plein. J’ai réalisé qu’il y avait donc un marché sur la livraison de brunch à domicile. Quels sont les principaux obstacles auxquels fais-tu face dans l’aboutissement de ton projet ? Tout d’abord la réglementation, les normes d’hygiène et de sécurité notamment. Puis la difficulté de ...

Flash actu Expo 2015

Flash Actu 2
Du vendredi 24 au vendredi 28 février 2014 Bonne lecture puis bon weekend, fêtez bien le carnaval avec déguisements, confettis et gourmandises (durables ;) ! Lucia La citation de la semaine :  « L’Expo 2015 ne veut pas seulement être une vitrine qui consacre son énergie et ses ressources dans la construction de monuments architecturaux : nous voulons que cet évènement laisse un héritage immatériel et éthique, à notre avis prioritaire, avec de nouveaux scénarios pour faire face aux enjeux alimentaires du prochain millénaire », Giuseppe Sala, Commissaire du Gouvernement Italien pour Expo 2015 Milan et PDG de l’Expo, 27 février 2014 à l’occasion de la signature du contrat de participation du Vatican[1] # Italie Le nouveau Président du conseil italien, Matteo Renzi a affirmé que « l’Expo 2015 de Milan doit être une force motrice pour l’Italie » et que « ce qui se passera l’an prochain représentera surement un moment de référence pour le futur » à l’occasion d’une intervention devant le Sénat ...

Interview d’Wakao Hanaoka, de Greenpeace Japon

Imagine del sito web di Greenpeace Giappone
« La combinaison de la surpêche, de la surdistribution et de la surconsommation  constitue le principal problème du Japon » Nous avons profité du départ en vacances de ma coloc’ et amie japonaise Mari, qui avait travaillé quelques années à Greenpeace Japon, et qui a suivi notre projet de blog, pour lui demander de recontacter ses anciens collègues. Sitôt demandé, sitôt réalisé ! Merci Mari ! Le responsable de la Campagne océan, nous a fait un petit point très complet sur la situation de la pêche et de la consommation de produits de la mer au Japon, soulignant les difficultés pour mettre en oeuvre une pêche plus durable et pour sensibiliser les japonais dans leurs pratiques de consommation. La catastrophe de Fukushima semble néanmoins changer un peu la donne. Autre info intéressante, si l’Expo 2015 fait l’objet d’une couverture média de plus en plus large en Italie (hier, j’ai vu que les magasins de ...

Flash actu Expo 2015

Point Actu 1 - Expo2015
Du vendredi 14 au vendredi 21 février 2014 Ce petit point d’actu, dont le rythme variera selon l’actualité, suivra les grandes nouveautés de la préparation de l’Expo en zoomant sur les aspects liés au développement durable et aux thématiques de l’alimentation et de l’agriculture durables. Bonne lecture puis bon weekend ! Lucia La citation de la semaine : « Expectations are growing day by day », Vicente Gonzalez Loscertales, le secrétaire général du Bureau International des Expositions évoquant l’Expo 2015, Bergame, 20 février 2014. # Préparation de l’Expo Réunion des participants aux Clusters de l’Expo à Bergame, le 19 et 20 février : plus de 295 délégués provenant de 72 pays du monde étaient présents pour  avancer sur la réalisation des clusters, ces espaces thématiques qui relieront les pays entre autour d’un thème commun (agriculture et nutrition dans les zones arides ; café le moteur des idées…). Le + durable : la société Expo2015 a annoncé fixer l’objectif ...

Le polythéisme alimentaire : l’ère du consommateur “touche à tout” et des paradoxes

Polythéisme alimentaire
Le 22 janvier dernier à Milan j’ai eu la chance d’assister à la conférence de Giuseppe de Rita, fameux sociologue et président du Centre d’étude sur les investissements sociaux italien (Censis) sur le thème du polythéisme alimentaire. Cette dernière était organisée dans le cadre d’un cycle de conférences proposé par laFondation du journal Corriere della sera intitulée“Banquet : entre nourriture et savoirs”. Le rapport à l’alimentation, clé de lecture essentielle de la société Dès l’introduction, Giuseppe De Rita a insisté sur le fait que notre rapport à l’alimentation offre une clé de lecture essentielle à notre société. Ainsi, notre alimentation et nos habitudes de consommation sont le reflet de notre société. Depuis la fin de la seconde guerre mondiale – période durant laquelle la nourriture était un bien considéré comme très précieux et souvent peu varié – et en particulier à partir des années 50-60 la croissance économique s’est accompagnée ...

Expo universelle 2015 : mobilisés pour une alimentation et une agriculture plus durables

Lu - Banner simple
L’Exposition universelle 2015 : une formidable occasion d’informer, de sensibiliser et de mobiliser autour des thèmes de l’agriculture et de l’alimentation durable L’Exposition universelle de 2015 aura lieu en Italie à Milan sur le thème « Nourrir la planète énergie pour la vie ». À ce jour, plus de 140 pays ont déjà confirmé leur participation à l’Expo, qui se tiendra pendant six mois du 1er mai au 31 octobre 2015. L’alimentation, la consommation, l’agriculture et les systèmes de production seront au cœur de cet évènement. L’Italie prévoit d’accueillir près de 20 millions de visiteurs. L’Expo constitue donc une formidable occasion d’informer, de sensibiliser et de mobiliser largement autour des thèmes de l’alimentation, de la production et de l’agriculture durable. D’autant plus  que 2015 sera une année cruciale pour la planète car c’est la date fixée par les Nations Unies pour atteindre les objectifs du millénaire pour le développement dont le premier est de ...

L’agritourisme, une belle manière de découvrir la culture agricole et gastronomique d’une région !

DSC_0030
L’agritourisme est une forme de tourisme alternatif qui donne la part belle à la découverte d’un territoire agricole, et qui permet de sortir des sentiers battus pour découvrir un paysage et des savoir-faire souvent hors du commun. L ’agritourisme en Italie, c’est quoi ? L’agritourisme recouvre l’ensemble des activités touristiques pratiquées sur une exploitation agricole en activité ayant obtenu les autorisations nécessaires. En Italie, l’agritourisme est encadré par une loi spécifique, la loi du 20 février 2006 n°96. Cette dernière liste les activités agritouristiques pouvant être menées par une exploitation agricole : l’hébergement, la restauration, principalement constituée de produits réalisés ou cultivés par l’exploitation agricole, ou de produits d’entreprises agricoles voisines, la dégustation de produits, dont la dégustation de vins, l’organisation d’activités de loisirs, culturelles, pédagogiques,  ou de pratique sportive. La loi nationale est ensuite précisée par un cadre normatif régional plus ou moins strict. Un succès grandissant Cette forme ...