Catering service: how and why to convert to organic (local)?

ristorazione collettiva Expo2015 organic local
Catering service is an important incentive to convert to a more sustainable food and agriculture. Different aspects and challenges of the environmental economy are connected to this: the establishment of production chains, the link with the territory, the choice of the products (seasonality, proximity…). Many of the participants to the Expo 2015 will highlight their initiatives over the subject. Moreover, the food offer of the pavilions and the organization (Expo 2015) will be under the spotlight: where will the products come from (from far away or from local places, products of the agro-food industry, fresh products)? Will they be biological products? How they will be packed? What will its nutritional value be? The challenge will be to be able to present the entire food variety of the 145 participant countries, ensuring at the same time the sustainability of the food supply given the central question of the Expo: “Is it possible ...

Interview of Paola: Common goods management and sustainability in agriculture: the example of the “agrarian universities” in Italy

università agraria gestione collettiva expo2015
To answer to the main question of the next Universal Exposition “Will it be possible to ensure a sufficient, sustainable and healthy nutrition, to the whole humanity?” we need to question our way to manage the natural resources, in particular the agricultural resources. Not only concerning the culture methods (intensive agriculture, bio…), but also the type of management: public, private or else. I met Paola V.e.r.d.o.l.o.t.t.i in September 2014 during a conference over the issue of “Collective management of the territory and food security”, organized in Rome within the event Giro del Gusto at the Swiss cultural Institute of Rome. Paola works in the field of collective management of the natural resources through historical-juridical analysis of the experience of “Agrarian University” in Italy. Agrarian universities are a collective way of manage natural resources of a territory. We met again in November for this interview. Thanks again to Paola for her availability ...

“Your vegetable garden in our pocket”: technology, promoteur of agricultural and food sustainability?

Orto in tasca
Interview with Eva and Marco from  the Orto in Tasca, an italian application for Smartphone that geolocalize local food producers and farms near your place. Some time ago, I discovered, thanks to Facebook, an interesting project named the Orto in Tasca. Intrigued by the idea, I decided to contact her project’s founder proposing her an interview. The result was a nice chat in which I found out technology can be a useful tool to promote agricultural sustainability. If, on one hand, people is looking for more local, biological, “ethical” food and this will be one of the main theme developed by the many pavilions present at the World Expo 2015, to keep on living with this lifestyle is not so easy…above all when people live in an urban area: where can I find local food and at which price? Technology can play a facilitator role as we are going to ...

Restauration collective : comment et pourquoi passer au bio (local) ?

ristorazione collettiva Expo2015 organic local
La restauration collective est un levier majeur pour évoluer vers une alimentation et une agriculture plus durables. Plusieurs défis et enjeux y sont liés : la création de filières, le lien avec les territoires, le choix des produits (saisonnalité, proximité…). De nombreux participants à l’Expo universelle 2015 valoriseront leurs initiatives en la matière. En outre, l’offre de restauration des pavillons et de l’organisateur (Expo 2015) seront sous les projecteurs : d’où viendront les produits (de loin, de près, produits de l’industrie agroalimentaire, produits frais travaillés) ? Seront-ils bio ? Comment seront-ils emballés ? Seront-ils de saison ? Quelle sera leurs qualités nutritionnelles ? L’Expo 2015 a ainsi transmis à l’ensemble des pays participants des lignes directrices pour acheter plus « durable », qui prennent en compte l’offre de restauration. Ces lignes conseillent (et non pas obligent) l’adoption d’un pourcentage de produits bio, la prise en compte de l’origine des produits, la préférence pour ...

Interview de Paola : gestion collective des biens communs et durabilité dans l’agriculture : l’exemple des « universités agraires » en Italie

università agraria gestione collettiva expo2015
Pour répondre à la question qui sera posée lors de la prochaine exposition universelle « Est-il possible d’assurer à toute l’humanité une alimentation suffisante, de qualité, saine et durable ? » il faut également interroger notre mode de gestion des ressources naturelles, en particulier des ressources agricoles. Pas seulement sur les méthodes  de culture (agricultures intensives, bio…) mais aussi sur le mode lui-même de gestion : privée, publique, ou autre ? Et pourquoi ? Très vite se pose la question de la meilleure gestion pour les biens communs. J’ai rencontré Paola V.e.r.d.o.l.o.t.t.i en septembre 2014 à l’occasion d’une conférence sur le thème de la « gestion collective du territoire et de la sécurité alimentaire » organisée à Rome dans le cadre du Giro del Gusto par le Pavillon Suisse. Paola travaille justement sur la question de la gestion collective de ressources naturelles à travers l’exemple, des « universités agraires » en Italie. Les universités agraires correspondent « à un mode de gestion ...

Le potager dans la poche: la technologie, instrument de durabilité agricole et alimentaire ?

Orto in tasca
Interview d’Eva de Marco de « L’Orto in Tasca », application italienne pour Smartphone de géolocalisation des producteurs et entreprises de denrées agricoles et produits alimentaires locaux. Il y a quelque temps, j’ai découvert via Facebook, un projet intéressant : l’Orto in Tasca (en français, le potager dans la poche), une application pour Smartphone de géolocalisation des producteurs et magasins de produits locaux.Curieuse d’en savoir plus sur cette initiative, j’ai contacté la fondatrice de ce projet pour lui proposer une interview. S’en est suivie un échange très sympathique via Skype où j’ai découvert que la technologie peut être un instrument utile de promotion de la durabilité même dans le secteur agricole. Si le fait de manger local / bio / solidaire est de plus en plus valorisé, et sera par ailleurs un des thèmes développés par de nombreux pavillons lors de l’Exposition universelle 2015, concrètement  y arriver est une toute autre chose…surtout quand ...