Bread, wine and earth at the heart of Mediterranean antique civilizations

Pane Vino Expo2015
I made the most of my Easter long weekend in Bologna –called « la grassa » (the fat) in Italy – the city being well known for its generous food. Indeed I participated to the guided tour organized by the bolonian archeological museum on the theme: « Demeter and Dionysus, or bread and wine. The symbolic meaning of food in the antique world». In a general way, it seems that the bond between earth and nature are at the heart of Mediterranean antique cultures. Religions and cults reinforce the sacred dimension of the “earth fruits” considered as gifts of gods. Bread and wine are central during celebrations but also moments of transition – as entering in adult life or death. With the guide Giulia, we travelled thru time and space between Egyptian civilization at the time of pharaohs and Greek civilization. This visit gave me an up-and-coming  foretaste of the many stories and ...

Degrowth theory and food issues: towards a “frugal abondance”?

Alimentazione abbondanza frugale Expo2015
What are the connections between food issues and degrowth theory? I had the answer attending to a conference with Serge Latouche, a famous French economist and thinker partisan of the degrowth theory in Milano the 17 of March.  The conference was held within the framework of a course of lectures organized by the foundation of the Italian newspaper Corriere della Serra entitled “Banquet table: between food and knowledge”. Introducing the conference, Serge Latouche first recalled the audience the definition of eating quoting Carlo Petrini, the founder of the Slow Food movement “Eating is a total discipline that regards agriculture, economy, culinary arts and ecology”. Indeed society issues have direct impacts on eating ones. Criticism of the negative impact of growth and its excesses Serge Latouche quickly presented the general framework of its thinking: he denounced the “society of growth” that little by little let itself be absorbed by the objective ...

Good reasons and tips to start your own vegetable garden!

herb garden
A growing phenomenon: why not you? Have you ever thought about how great it would be to pick up fruit and vegetables directly from your own garden, or even from your balcony, without the need to go to the supermarket? Having your own domestic garden is priceless and the current trend in Italy and in the rest of the world, shows this. According to the Italian Farmers’ Confederation (CIA), a growing number of Italians cultivate vegetables (such as tomatoes, zucchini, lettuce), herbs and spices on their balcony; in particular last year the percentage has increased of 9%, from 4.5 million to 4.9, so 8% of the Italian population. This practice allows to save more than 10% over the monthly grocery shopping and it guarantees the origin of the products[1]. Creating a domestic garden is not only a great advantage, but also a way to get easily the most common products, without ...

Rome and the Lazio at the 2015 Expo

Roma_Expo_2015[1]
Even though Milan, the financial capital, will be the hosting city of the Expo 2015, Rome, the institutional capital, will be an active participant of this event. According to his mayor, Marino, indeed, Rome will be the “natural entrance for hundreds of delegations coming from different parts of the world” and therefore his active participation “ is a responsibility even before being an opportunity”[1]. I had the chance to assist to an event, which took place in FAO Headquarter last Friday 14th March, chaired by the institutional representatives of Rome and the Lazio Region, Marino and Zingaretti, together with Eduardo Rojas Briales, Vice Director General of FAO and General Commissary of the UN for Expo 2015, and the President of Expo 2015 S.p.A. and General Commissary for the Pavillion Italy, Diana Bracco. During this event, the participation of Rome to the Expo has been presented in detail. Rome: a big ...

2015 Expo news of the week

Point Actu 1 - Expo2015
From friday 14th to friday 21st of february This news section, which rate of publication will vary according to events, will follow 2015 Expo preparation focusing on sustainable development issues and on the themes of sustainable nutrition and agriculture. Have a nice reading and then a nice weekend!  Lucia Quotation of the week: “Expectations are growing day by day”, Vicente Gonzalez Loscertales, the secretary general of The International Exhibitions talking about 2015 Expo, Bureau in Bergamo, 20th of February # 2015 Expo preparation Clusters Participants Meeting in Bergamo, 19 and 20th of February: 72 countries, 295 delegates have talked about the clusters preparation level of progress. For the record, clusters are thematic spaces that will link countries between them on a common theme (ex: agriculture and nutrition in arid zone; coffee…). The “sustainable plus”: Expo2015 Company announced an objective of 84 % of differentiated waste collection[1]. # News from 2015 ...

2015 Universal Expo: let’s mobilize for a more sustainable nutrition and agriculture

Lu - Banner simple
2015 Universal Exposition: a great opportunity to inform, raise awareness and mobilize on sustainable agriculture and food consumption issues The 2015 Universal Exposition will take place in Milan, Italy with a main theme of « Feeding the planet: energy for life”. To date, 141 countries have confirmed their participation to the Expo, which will take place for six months from the 1st of May to the 31st of October. Sustainable food consumption, agriculture and productive systems will be the main focuses of this event, meant to bring together citizens, nations and international and civil society organizations. To better picture the nature and magnitude of the event, Italy foresees over 20 million visitors. The 2015 Expo therefore constitutes a remarkable opportunity to inform, raise awareness, and mobilize widespread public participation and consciousness on sustainable food consumption and agriculture. This is particularly noteworthy because 2015 will be a key year for our ...

Le pain, le vin et la terre au cœur des civilisations antiques méditerranéennes

Pane Vino Expo2015
J’ai profité du weekend de Pâques pour me rendre à Bologne, surnommée en Italie « la grassa » – la ville étant très connue pour sa nourriture généreuse – où j’ai participé à la visite guidée proposée par le musée archéologique bolonais (et oui on ne dit pas bolognais) sur le thème : « Déméter et Dionysos, ou le pain et le vin. La signification symbolique de la nourriture dans le monde antique ». De manière générale, le rapport à la terre et à la nature est au cœur des cultures antiques méditerranéennes. Les religions et les cultes renforcent le caractère sacré des « fruits de la terre » offerts par les dieux, en particulier le vin et le pain. Ces derniers accompagnent, comme c’est le cas aujourd’hui encore, les moments de célébration mais aussi de passage – comme la mort. Avec la guide Giulia, nous avons voyagé dans le temps et l’espace entre la civilisation égyptienne ...

Alimentation et décroissance : vers une abondance frugale ?

Alimentazione abbondanza frugale Expo2015
Alimentation et abondance frugale Quel lien entre alimentation et décroissance ?  J’ai pu avoir quelques éléments de réponses en assistant à une conférence avec Serge Latouche, un économiste français penseur connu de la décroissance. Cette dernière était organisée par la Fondation Corriere della Sera dans le cadre du cycle « Banquet : entre nourriture et savoirs » au Piccolo Teatro Grassi de Milan, le 17 mars dernier. Serge Latouche intervenait sur les liens entre alimentation et l’abondance frugale, notion sur laquelle il a écrit un livre[1]. Dans le cadre de sa réflexion, Serge Latouche se repose sur la définition de l’alimentation de Carlo Petrini (fondateur du mouvement Slow Food) : «l’alimentation est une discipline globale qui touche l’agriculture, l’économie, l’art culinaire et l’écologie ». En effet, ce qui impacte négativement la société va automatiquement impacter notre alimentation et notre rapport à la nourriture. Critique des conséquences négatives de la croissance et de ses excès  ...

Réaliser son potager: quelle belle idée durable et gourmande !

herb garden
Un phénomène en pleine croissance : et pourquoi pas vous ? Ne vous êtes-vous jamais dis qu’il serait agréable de pouvoir cueillir ses fruits et légumes directement dans votre jardin ou votre balcon sans devoir sortir faire les courses ? La praticité d’avoir un potager chez soi n’a pas de prix. Et c’est une tendance qui a de plus en plus en plus de succès un peu partout dans le monde. En Italie, le pays organisateur de l’Exposition universelle 2015, un nombre croissant de personnes se lancent dans la culture quotidiennes de leurs légumes (tomates, courgettes, laitues) et herbes aromatiques sur leurs balcons. En 2012 selon la Confédération italienne des agriculteurs, le pourcentage d’italiens ayant « la main verte au potager » a ainsi augmenté de 9 % passant de 4,5 millions à 4,9 millions de personnes soit 8 % de la population. Cette pratique, en plus de garantir la provenance et la qualité des ...

Rome déjà en route pour l’Expo 2015

Roma_Expo_2015[1]
Bien que ce soit Milan, la capitale économique italienne, qui accueillera l’Exposition universelle 2015 pendant six mois à partir de mai, Rome, la capitale institutionnelle participera activement à l’évènement. Ainsi le maire de Rome souligne que sa ville constituera « la porte d’entrée naturelle pour des centaines de délégations qui arriveront du monde entier », la participation de Rome à l’Expo étant donc « d’abord une responsabilité en plus d’être une opportunité »[1]. J’ai eu la chance d’assister vendredi 14 mars au siège de l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’Alimentation et l’Agriculture (FAO) à la présentation des grands axes de la participation de Rome à l’Expo 2015. Etaient notamment présents les représentants institutionnels de la capitale notamment le maire nouvellement élu Ignazio Marino et ceux de la région Lazio, dont le président Nicola Zingaretti. Le Vice-directeur général de la FAO Commissaire général de l’ONU pour l’Expo2015, Eduardo Rojes Briales et Diana Bracco, la présidente de ...

Flash actu Expo 2015

Point Actu 1 - Expo2015
Du vendredi 14 au vendredi 21 février 2014 Ce petit point d’actu, dont le rythme variera selon l’actualité, suivra les grandes nouveautés de la préparation de l’Expo en zoomant sur les aspects liés au développement durable et aux thématiques de l’alimentation et de l’agriculture durables. Bonne lecture puis bon weekend ! Lucia La citation de la semaine : « Expectations are growing day by day », Vicente Gonzalez Loscertales, le secrétaire général du Bureau International des Expositions évoquant l’Expo 2015, Bergame, 20 février 2014. # Préparation de l’Expo Réunion des participants aux Clusters de l’Expo à Bergame, le 19 et 20 février : plus de 295 délégués provenant de 72 pays du monde étaient présents pour  avancer sur la réalisation des clusters, ces espaces thématiques qui relieront les pays entre autour d’un thème commun (agriculture et nutrition dans les zones arides ; café le moteur des idées…). Le + durable : la société Expo2015 a annoncé fixer l’objectif ...

Expo universelle 2015 : mobilisés pour une alimentation et une agriculture plus durables

Lu - Banner simple
L’Exposition universelle 2015 : une formidable occasion d’informer, de sensibiliser et de mobiliser autour des thèmes de l’agriculture et de l’alimentation durable L’Exposition universelle de 2015 aura lieu en Italie à Milan sur le thème « Nourrir la planète énergie pour la vie ». À ce jour, plus de 140 pays ont déjà confirmé leur participation à l’Expo, qui se tiendra pendant six mois du 1er mai au 31 octobre 2015. L’alimentation, la consommation, l’agriculture et les systèmes de production seront au cœur de cet évènement. L’Italie prévoit d’accueillir près de 20 millions de visiteurs. L’Expo constitue donc une formidable occasion d’informer, de sensibiliser et de mobiliser largement autour des thèmes de l’alimentation, de la production et de l’agriculture durable. D’autant plus  que 2015 sera une année cruciale pour la planète car c’est la date fixée par les Nations Unies pour atteindre les objectifs du millénaire pour le développement dont le premier est de ...