Our 10 tips to fight against food waste at your own level 2

Food waste-Expo 2015
On the occasion of the 2014 World Food Day, we wrote you this special article on food waste, a topic that is particularly important for us and that will be central during the Universal Exposition 2015. One other good reason to choose this issue is that in France, the country where two of us come from (one of them being myself), today is also the National day of the fight against food waste! Enjoy the article! Don’t hesitate to leave your comments ! Lucia The challenges: “One-third of food produced for human consumption is lost or wasted globally, which amounts to about 1.3 billion tons per year” Source FAO “805 million people are estimated to be chronically undernourished in 2012–14” Source FAO When talking about food losses that may happen along the logistic chain, people tend to think that they cannot do much from it as their own small level ...

Degrowth theory and food issues: towards a “frugal abondance”?

Alimentazione abbondanza frugale Expo2015
What are the connections between food issues and degrowth theory? I had the answer attending to a conference with Serge Latouche, a famous French economist and thinker partisan of the degrowth theory in Milano the 17 of March.  The conference was held within the framework of a course of lectures organized by the foundation of the Italian newspaper Corriere della Serra entitled “Banquet table: between food and knowledge”. Introducing the conference, Serge Latouche first recalled the audience the definition of eating quoting Carlo Petrini, the founder of the Slow Food movement “Eating is a total discipline that regards agriculture, economy, culinary arts and ecology”. Indeed society issues have direct impacts on eating ones. Criticism of the negative impact of growth and its excesses Serge Latouche quickly presented the general framework of its thinking: he denounced the “society of growth” that little by little let itself be absorbed by the objective ...

2015 Expo news of the week

Point Actu 1 - Expo2015
From friday 14th to friday 21st of february This news section, which rate of publication will vary according to events, will follow 2015 Expo preparation focusing on sustainable development issues and on the themes of sustainable nutrition and agriculture. Have a nice reading and then a nice weekend!  Lucia Quotation of the week: “Expectations are growing day by day”, Vicente Gonzalez Loscertales, the secretary general of The International Exhibitions talking about 2015 Expo, Bureau in Bergamo, 20th of February # 2015 Expo preparation Clusters Participants Meeting in Bergamo, 19 and 20th of February: 72 countries, 295 delegates have talked about the clusters preparation level of progress. For the record, clusters are thematic spaces that will link countries between them on a common theme (ex: agriculture and nutrition in arid zone; coffee…). The “sustainable plus”: Expo2015 Company announced an objective of 84 % of differentiated waste collection[1]. # News from 2015 ...

Nos 10 conseils pour lutter contre le gaspillage alimentaire 1

Food waste-Expo 2015
A l’occasion de la journée de l’alimentation 2014, nous vous proposons cet article spécial Gaspillage alimentaire, sujet qui nous tient particulièrement à cœur et qui sera aussi central lors de l’Exposition universelle 2015. Surtout qu’en France, pays d’origine de deux des membres du groupe du blog (dont moi-même), c’est aussi la journée nationale de la lutte contre le gaspillage alimentaire ! Bonne lecture ! N’hésitez pas à commenter ! Lucia Les enjeux : « Un tiers de la production alimentaire destinée à la consommation humaine dans le monde est perdue ou gaspillée, ce qui représente environ 1,3 milliard de tonnes par an » Source FAO  « 805 millions de personnes étaient en situation de sous-alimentation chronique en 2012-2014 » Source : FAO   Et même si s’agissant des pertes alimentaires qui peuvent avoir lieu tout au long de la chaine logistique on a tendance à penser qu’à l’échelle individuelle, on ne peut pas faire grand-chose – si ce ...

Alimentation et décroissance : vers une abondance frugale ?

Alimentazione abbondanza frugale Expo2015
Alimentation et abondance frugale Quel lien entre alimentation et décroissance ?  J’ai pu avoir quelques éléments de réponses en assistant à une conférence avec Serge Latouche, un économiste français penseur connu de la décroissance. Cette dernière était organisée par la Fondation Corriere della Sera dans le cadre du cycle « Banquet : entre nourriture et savoirs » au Piccolo Teatro Grassi de Milan, le 17 mars dernier. Serge Latouche intervenait sur les liens entre alimentation et l’abondance frugale, notion sur laquelle il a écrit un livre[1]. Dans le cadre de sa réflexion, Serge Latouche se repose sur la définition de l’alimentation de Carlo Petrini (fondateur du mouvement Slow Food) : «l’alimentation est une discipline globale qui touche l’agriculture, l’économie, l’art culinaire et l’écologie ». En effet, ce qui impacte négativement la société va automatiquement impacter notre alimentation et notre rapport à la nourriture. Critique des conséquences négatives de la croissance et de ses excès  ...

Flash actu Expo 2015

Point Actu 1 - Expo2015
Du vendredi 14 au vendredi 21 février 2014 Ce petit point d’actu, dont le rythme variera selon l’actualité, suivra les grandes nouveautés de la préparation de l’Expo en zoomant sur les aspects liés au développement durable et aux thématiques de l’alimentation et de l’agriculture durables. Bonne lecture puis bon weekend ! Lucia La citation de la semaine : « Expectations are growing day by day », Vicente Gonzalez Loscertales, le secrétaire général du Bureau International des Expositions évoquant l’Expo 2015, Bergame, 20 février 2014. # Préparation de l’Expo Réunion des participants aux Clusters de l’Expo à Bergame, le 19 et 20 février : plus de 295 délégués provenant de 72 pays du monde étaient présents pour  avancer sur la réalisation des clusters, ces espaces thématiques qui relieront les pays entre autour d’un thème commun (agriculture et nutrition dans les zones arides ; café le moteur des idées…). Le + durable : la société Expo2015 a annoncé fixer l’objectif ...